Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1946/47 | 1947/48 | 1948/49

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 23rd Aug Maidstone United(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-4
--- -
Sat 30th Aug Canterbury City(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 4-2
--- -
Sat 06th Sep Deal Town(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-1
--- -
Sat 13th Sep Snowdown(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-2
--- -
Sat 20th Sep Whitstable Town(H) FA Cup (Preliminary Round) W0n 4-1
1,200 -
Sat 27th Sep Sittingbourne(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-3
--- -
Sat 04th Oct Gravesend and Northfleet(A) FA Cup (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 0-4
--- -
Sat 11th Oct Folkestone(H) Kent Senior Shield (?) W0n 1-2
2,000 -
Sat 18th Oct Snowdown(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-0
--- -
Sat 25th Oct Deal Town(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-2
--- -
Sat 01st Nov Lloyds PM(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-6
--- -
Sat 08th Nov RM Chatham(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-1
1,150 thumb-1
Sat 15th Nov Sheppey United(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-2
--- -
Sat 22nd Nov Ramsgate Athletic(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-4
--- -
Sat 29th Nov Gravesend and Northfleet Reser(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-1
--- -
Sat 06th Dec Fulham(H) Friendly W0n 3-3
--- -
Sat 13th Dec Sittingbourne(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 4-1
--- -
Sat 20th Dec RM Chatham(A) Kent Senior Cup (4th Qualifying Round) W0n 6-0
75 -
Thu 25th Dec Folkestone(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-0
--- -
Fri 26th Dec Folkestone(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 27th Dec Maidstone United(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 03rd Jan Sheppey United(A) Kent Senior Cup (1st Round) W0n 2-4
--- thumb-1
Sat 10th Jan Sheppey United(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-1
--- -
Sat 17th Jan Chatham Town(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-3
--- -
Sat 24th Jan Ramsgate Athletic(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-0
1,049 -
Sat 31st Jan Betteshanger(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-3
--- -
Sat 07th Feb RM Chatham(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 5-0
100 -
Sat 14th Feb Gravesend and Northfleet Reser(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 28th Feb Margate(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-1
1,398 thumb-1
Sat 06th Mar Margate(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-3
--- -
Sat 13th Mar Lloyds PM(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-1
--- -
Sat 20th Mar Canterbury City(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 5-4
2,000 thumb-1
Fri 26th Mar Dover(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-0
--- -
Sat 27th Mar Chatham Town(H) Kent League Cup (2nd Round 1st Leg) W0n 0-0
1,200 -
Mon 29th Mar Dover(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-2
3,850 -
Sat 03rd Apr Chatham Town(A) Kent League Cup (2nd Round 2nd Leg) W0n 0-1
--- -
Sat 10th Apr Gillingham Reserves(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-2
--- -
Wed 14th Apr Aylesford PM(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-1
--- -
Wed 21st Apr Aylesford PM(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-0
--- -
Sat 24th Apr Chatham Town(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-8
--- -
Wed 28th Apr Betteshanger(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-2
--- -
Sat 01st May Gillingham Reserves(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1

League Table 1947/48
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Margate 34 24 1 9 103 44 +59 49
2 Folkestone 34 21 5 8 103 43 +60 47
3 Gillingham Reserves 34 19 5 10 71 45 +26 43
4 Ramsgate Athletic 34 20 2 12 72 53 +19 42
5 Maidstone 34 18 5 11 72 61 +11 41
6 Lloyds PM 34 18 3 13 86 74 +12 39
7 Dover 34 15 8 11 70 60 +10 38
8 Gravesend & Northfleet Reserves 33 14 10 10 62 54 +8 38
9 Sittingbourne 34 15 7 12 86 79 +7 37
10 Chatham 34 15 6 13 82 67 +15 36
11 Canterbury City 34 15 4 15 77 71 +6 34
12 Ashford Town 34 12 5 17 59 68 -9 29
13 Betteshanger CW 34 11 6 17 68 81 -13 28
14 Deal 34 9 8 17 55 79 -24 26
15 Snowdown CW 34 8 8 18 61 89 -28 24
16 Sheppey United 34 10 2 22 64 98 -34 22
17 Aylesford PM 34 6 8 20 46 99 -53 20
18 RM Chatham 29 7 3 24 49 121 -72 17

Season Summary 1947/48
Competition Summary
Kent League Division 1 12th (18)
FA Cup 1st Qualifying Round
Kent Senior Cup 1st Round
Kent Senior Shield ?
Kent League Cup 2nd Round

Player Stats 1947/48
Player League Apps League Goals Cup Apps Cup Goals Total Apps Total Goals
W Beale 19 (0) 5 5 (0) 2 24 (0) 7
Bell 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
H Blackwell 2 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 3 (0) 0
Billy Briant 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
William Burnett 4 (0) 1 1 (0) 2 5 (0) 3
Carey-Williams 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
F Dean 3 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 3 (0) 0
Dunscombe 13 (0) 4 4 (0) 1 17 (0) 5
Fagg 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Ferrier 14 (0) 8 5 (0) 2 19 (0) 10
Alan Fletcher 4 (0) 3 0 (0) 0 4 (0) 3
Keith Francis 4 (0) 4 1 (0) 0 5 (0) 4
Jimmy Francis 10 (0) 2 2 (0) 0 12 (0) 2
George Gunn 33 (0) 4 7 (0) 0 40 (0) 4
Hammon 22 (0) 0 4 (0) 0 26 (0) 0
Hopkins 6 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 8 (0) 0
Fred James 23 (0) 5 4 (0) 1 27 (0) 6
Ron Jupp 32 (0) 0 6 (0) 0 38 (0) 0
Pat Lacey 32 (0) 0 7 (0) 0 39 (0) 0
Learmonth 10 (0) 3 1 (0) 2 11 (0) 5
Punyer 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Bert Sibley 27 (0) 1 7 (0) 0 34 (0) 1
Harold Stevens 6 (0) 1 0 (0) 0 6 (0) 1
Don Swallow 31 (0) 2 4 (0) 0 35 (0) 2
Roy Wadey 8 (0) 2 3 (0) 0 11 (0) 2
J Woodcock 6 (0) 2 1 (0) 0 7 (0) 2
Ray Woodcock 19 (0) 6 3 (0) 1 22 (0) 7
Frank Wright 12 (0) 0 3 (0) 0 15 (0) 0
Ernie Yates 29 (0) 4 6 (0) 1 35 (0) 5