Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1947/48 | 1948/49 | 1949/50

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 21st Aug Sittingbourne(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-4
--- -
Sat 28th Aug Canterbury City(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-1
--- -
Sat 04th Sep Woolwich Polytechnic(H) FA Cup (Extra Preliminary Round) W0n 2-0
1,719 -
Sat 11th Sep Sheppey United(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 5-2
2,500 -
Sat 18th Sep Whitstable Town(A) FA Cup (Preliminary Round) W0n 1-0
--- -
Sat 25th Sep Maidstone United(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-0
1,726 -
Sat 02nd Oct Ramsgate Athletic(A) FA Cup (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 0-4
3,000 -
Sat 09th Oct Folkestone(A) Kent Senior Shield (1st Round) W0n 0-2
4,112 -
Sat 16th Oct Deal Town(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 5-0
1,408 -
Sat 23rd Oct Betteshanger(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-2
--- -
Sat 30th Oct Margate(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 5-2
1,850 -
Sat 06th Nov Lloyds PM(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-3
--- -
Sat 13th Nov Dover(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-1
2,337 -
Sat 20th Nov Dover(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-1
4,000 -
Sat 27th Nov RM Chatham(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 9-2
--- -
Sat 11th Dec Maidstone United(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 4-0
--- -
Sat 18th Dec Canterbury City(H) Kent Senior Cup (4th Qualifying Round) W0n 1-3
1,850 thumb-1
Sat 25th Dec Folkestone(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 4-2
--- -
Mon 27th Dec Folkestone(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 01st Jan Sheppey United(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-0
1,117 -
Sat 08th Jan Betteshanger(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-1
--- -
Sat 15th Jan Aylesford PM(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 6-0
--- -
Sat 22nd Jan Sittingbourne(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 6-0
1,750 thumb-1
Sat 29th Jan Betteshanger(A) Kent League Cup (2nd Round) W0n 1-2
--- -
Sat 05th Feb Aylesford PM(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 4-1
1,435 -
Sat 12th Feb Ramsgate Athletic(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 6-3
--- -
Sat 19th Feb Margate(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 4-3
3,200 -
Sat 26th Feb Snowdown(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-0
--- -
Sat 05th Mar Lloyds PM(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-2
--- -
Sat 12th Mar Canterbury City(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 4-0
2,100 -
Sat 19th Mar Ramsgate Athletic(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 26th Mar RM Chatham(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 9-0
1,400 -
Sat 02nd Apr Gravesend and Northfleet Reser(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-0
--- -
Fri 15th Apr Chatham Town(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 4-1
2,632 -
Sat 16th Apr Gillingham Reserves(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-4
--- thumb-1
Mon 18th Apr Chatham Town(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Mon 25th Apr Gravesend and Northfleet Reser(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-1
--- -
Sat 30th Apr Snowdown(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 5-1
--- -
Wed 04th May Deal Town(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 07th May Gillingham Reserves(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1

League Table 1948/49
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Ashford Town 34 23 6 5 109 41 +68 52
2 Dover 34 24 4 6 86 41 +45 52
3 Ramsgate Athletic 34 25 2 7 104 52 +52 52
4 Folkestone 33 20 8 5 112 48 +64 48
5 Betteshanger CW 33 20 3 10 72 62 +10 43
6 Gillingham Reserves 34 17 8 9 85 46 +39 42
7 Canterbury City 34 16 5 13 90 64 +26 37
8 Chatham 34 15 6 13 78 70 +8 36
9 Sheppey United 34 14 6 14 75 73 +2 34
10 Margate 34 14 5 15 84 64 +20 33
11 Gravesend & Northfleet Reserves 34 14 3 17 61 57 +4 31
12 Snowdown CW 34 13 5 16 92 96 -4 31
13 Maidstone 34 12 6 16 68 87 -19 30
14 Sittingbourne 34 12 4 18 57 71 -14 28
15 Lloyds 34 9 5 20 75 95 -20 23
16 Deal 34 7 4 23 41 100 -59 18
17 Aylesford PM 34 4 4 26 39 111 -72 12
18 RM Chatham 34 2 4 28 35 185 -150 8

Season Summary 1948/49
Competition Summary
Kent League Division 1 *** CHAMPIONS ***
FA Cup 1st Qualifying Round
Kent Senior Cup 4th Qualifying Round
Kent Senior Shield ?
Kent League Cup 2nd Round

Player Stats 1948/49
Player League Apps League Goals Cup Apps Cup Goals Total Apps Total Goals
G Allport 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Charlie Barnard 32 (0) 10 6 (0) 2 38 (0) 12
H Blackwell 11 (0) 0 5 (0) 0 16 (0) 0
Billy Briant 2 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 3 (0) 0
Davies 1 (0) 1 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 1
F Dean 4 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 4 (0) 0
Ossie Evans 16 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 16 (0) 0
Jimmy Francis 2 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
Gallagher 3 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 3 (0) 0
A Griffin 6 (0) 2 4 (0) 0 10 (0) 2
George Gunn 30 (0) 17 4 (0) 0 34 (0) 17
Hammon 3 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 5 (0) 0
Fred James 30 (0) 21 6 (0) 0 36 (0) 21
Ron Jupp 24 (0) 2 5 (0) 0 29 (0) 2
Pat Lacey 15 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 16 (0) 0
Hugh Millen 2 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
Gerald Millen 3 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 3 (0) 0
Saddleton 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
Bert Sibley 30 (0) 6 4 (0) 0 34 (0) 6
Don Swallow 13 (0) 2 2 (0) 0 15 (0) 2
Roy Wadey 31 (0) 1 6 (0) 0 37 (0) 1
Charlie Walker 27 (0) 1 6 (0) 0 33 (0) 1
Ted Wells 23 (0) 25 2 (0) 1 25 (0) 26
J Woodcock 8 (0) 5 3 (0) 1 11 (0) 6
Frank Wright 12 (0) 0 3 (0) 0 15 (0) 0
Ernie Yates 22 (0) 5 5 (0) 1 27 (0) 6