Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1948/49 | 1949/50 | 1950/51

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 20th Aug Folkestone(A) Friendly W0n 2-1
--- -
Sat 27th Aug Aylesford PM(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 03rd Sep Sheppey United(A) FA Cup (Extra Preliminary Round) W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 10th Sep Deal Town(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-1
1,616 thumb-1
Sat 17th Sep RM Chatham(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 7-0
--- -
Sat 24th Sep Queens Park Rangers(H) Friendly W0n 0-0
1,770 -
Sat 01st Oct RM Chatham(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 6-1
1,675 thumb-1
Sat 15th Oct Snowdown(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-1
1,964 -
Sat 22nd Oct Dover(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 4-4
--- -
Sat 29th Oct Bowaters(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-2
--- -
Sat 05th Nov Margate(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-3
1,277 thumb-1
Sat 12th Nov Sheppey United(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 19th Nov Canterbury City(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 26th Nov Canterbury City(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 5-2
2,199 thumb-1
Sat 03rd Dec Deal Town(H) Kent League Cup (1st Round 1st Leg) W0n 2-2
1,588 -
Sat 10th Dec Betteshanger(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 5-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 17th Dec Sittingbourne(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-2
--- -
Sat 24th Dec Folkestone(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-4
--- thumb-1
Mon 26th Dec Folkestone(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 31st Dec Faversham Town(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-3
--- -
Sat 07th Jan Deal Town(A) Kent League Cup (1st Round 2ns Leg) W0n 1-0
--- -
Sat 14th Jan Dartford(H) Kent Senior Shield (1st Round) W0n 1-2
--- -
Sat 21st Jan Thameside Amateurs(H) Kent Senior Cup (1st Round) W0n 3-1
--- -
Sat 28th Jan Snowdown(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-5
--- -
Sat 04th Feb Canterbury City(A) Kent League Cup (2nd Round) W0n 2-4
--- thumb-1
Sat 11th Feb Betteshanger(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-1
--- -
Sat 18th Feb Bromley(H) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round) W0n 0-2
4,778 -
Sat 25th Feb Sheppey United(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 7-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 04th Mar Margate(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-1
--- -
Sat 11th Mar Bowaters(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-0
--- -
Sat 18th Mar Deal Town(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-2
--- -
Sat 25th Mar Ramsgate Athletic(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-5
--- -
Sat 01st Apr Aylesford PM(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 5-1
--- -
Fri 07th Apr Chatham Town(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 4-1
--- -
Sat 08th Apr Maidstone United(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 4-3
--- -
Mon 10th Apr Chatham Town(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-0
--- -
Sat 15th Apr Sittingbourne(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-1
1,200 -
Wed 19th Apr Ramsgate Athletic(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-5
--- -
Sat 22nd Apr Maidstone United(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-2
--- thumb-1
Mon 01st May Dover(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-1
--- -
Sat 06th May Faversham Town(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-2
1,510 -

League Table 1949/50
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Ramsgate Athletic 32 26 3 3 118 33 +85 55
2 Folkestone 32 23 5 4 115 33 +82 51
3 Canterbury City 32 19 6 7 100 53 +47 44
4 Dover 32 16 10 6 97 46 +51 42
5 Snowdown CW 32 18 4 10 79 50 +29 40
6 Margate 32 17 5 10 67 39 +28 39
7 Ashford Town 32 15 8 9 83 62 +21 38
8 Bowaters-Lloyd 32 13 10 9 80 75 +5 36
9 Maidstone 32 13 3 16 78 88 -10 29
10 Faversham Town 32 12 5 15 54 65 -11 29
11 Sheppey United 32 8 11 13 56 78 -22 27
12 Deal 32 10 6 16 51 87 -36 26
13 Sittingbourne 32 10 5 17 46 70 -24 25
14 Betteshanger CW 32 8 6 18 68 82 -14 22
15 Chatham 32 8 4 20 56 97 -41 20
16 Aylesford PM 32 6 5 21 46 105 -59 17
17 RM Chatham 32 1 2 29 24 155 -131 4

Season Summary 1949/50
Competition Summary
Kent League Division 1 7th (17)
FA Cup Extra Preliminary Round
Kent League Cup 2nd Round
Kent Senior Cup 2nd Round
Kent Senior Shield 1st Round

Player Stats 1949/50
Player League Apps League Goals Cup Apps Cup Goals Total Apps Total Goals
Barham 9 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 9 (0) 0
Charlie Barnard 22 (0) 9 6 (0) 0 28 (0) 9
Billy Briant 3 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 4 (0) 0
Clough 6 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 7 (0) 0
Ossie Evans 15 (0) 0 5 (0) 0 20 (0) 0
Fred Eves 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Gallagher 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
George Gunn 9 (0) 2 2 (0) 0 11 (0) 2
Hammon 2 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 3 (0) 0
S Hissett 8 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 8 (0) 0
Bob Hope 8 (0) 5 1 (0) 0 9 (0) 5
Fred James 22 (0) 10 2 (0) 0 24 (0) 10
Ron Jupp 12 (0) 1 4 (0) 0 16 (0) 1
Victor Knott 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Pat Lacey 27 (0) 0 7 (0) 0 34 (0) 0
Messenger 1 (0) 0 3 (0) 1 4 (0) 1
Gerald Millen 3 (0) 1 0 (0) 0 3 (0) 1
Hugh Millen 4 (0) 2 2 (0) 0 6 (0) 2
Donovan Moore 11 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 12 (0) 0
Pugh 4 (0) 0 2 (0) 1 6 (0) 1
Bert Sibley 24 (0) 3 3 (0) 0 27 (0) 3
Stokes 8 (0) 7 0 (0) 0 8 (0) 7
Tracey 6 (0) 3 2 (0) 0 8 (0) 3
Roy Wadey 27 (0) 1 6 (0) 0 33 (0) 1
Charlie Walker 26 (0) 0 5 (0) 0 31 (0) 0
Ted Wells 22 (0) 19 7 (0) 4 29 (0) 23
J Woodcock 2 (0) 0 4 (0) 0 6 (0) 0
Ray Woodcock 10 (0) 7 5 (0) 3 15 (0) 10
Frank Wright 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Ernie Yates 25 (0) 10 5 (0) 0 30 (0) 10