Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1954/55 | 1955/56 | 1956/57
List Grid

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 20th Aug Sheppey United(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-1
1,496 thumb-1
Wed 24th Aug Snowdown(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 27th Aug Fulham(H) Friendly W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Thu 01st Sep Margate(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-1
2,533 thumb-1
Sat 03rd Sep Tunbridge Wells(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 10th Sep Tooting and Mitcham(H) FA Cup (Preliminary Round) W0n 1-0
--- -
Sat 17th Sep Gillingham Reserves(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-2
1,668 -
Sat 24th Sep Ramsgate Athletic(H) FA Cup (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 2-5
2,718 thumb-1
Thu 29th Sep Margate(A) Kent League Cup (1st Round) W0n 3-4
--- thumb-1
Sat 01st Oct Sittingbourne(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-3
--- -
Sat 15th Oct Canterbury City(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 22nd Oct Gillingham Reserves(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-4
--- thumb-1
Sat 29th Oct Deal Town(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-5
--- -
Sat 05th Nov Sheppey United(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 12th Nov Bexleyheath and Welling(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 19th Nov Betteshanger(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-3
--- -
Sat 26th Nov Betteshanger(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-0
1,138 -
Sat 03rd Dec Ramsgate Athletic(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-4
--- -
Sat 10th Dec Dover(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-2
1,438 -
Sat 17th Dec Bexleyheath and Welling(H) Kent Senior Cup (4th Qualifying Round) W0n 1-2
1,333 thumb-1
Mon 26th Dec Folkestone(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-2
--- thumb-1
Tue 27th Dec Folkestone(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-0
2,689 thumb-1
Sat 31st Dec Dover(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-2
2,055 thumb-1
Sat 07th Jan Ashford Town Reserves(H) Friendly W0n 0-6
996 -
Sat 14th Jan Snowdown(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 21st Jan Tunbridge Wells(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-3
1,161 -
Sat 28th Jan Deal Town(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-2
--- -
Sat 04th Feb Canterbury City(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-2
801 thumb-1
Sat 11th Feb Faversham Town(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-0
200 -
Sat 18th Feb Ramsgate Athletic(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-2
--- -
Sat 25th Feb Chatham Town(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 5-2
230 -
Sat 03rd Mar Chatham Town(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 17th Mar Sittingbourne(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-0
1,127 -
Sat 24th Mar Faversham Town(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 1-0
659 -
Fri 30th Mar Whitstable Town(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-0
--- -
Mon 02nd Apr Whitstable Town(A) Kent League Division 1 W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 21st Apr Bexleyheath and Welling(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 3-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 28th Apr Margate(H) Kent League Division 1 W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1


Kent League Division One

League Table 1955/56
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Ramsgate Athletic 32 24 4 4 108 39 +69 52
2 Margate 32 19 6 7 93 45 +48 44
3 Snowdown CW 32 20 4 8 91 50 +41 44
4 Tunbridge Wells United 32 18 7 7 74 49 +25 43
5 Sittingbourne 32 16 8 8 73 47 +26 40
6 Deal 32 16 6 10 72 61 +11 38
7 Canterbury City 32 14 8 10 65 56 +9 36
8 Dover 32 16 3 13 60 56 +4 35
9 Folkestone 32 16 2 14 64 55 +9 34
10 Bexleyheath and Welling 32 10 11 11 55 58 -3 31
11 Ashford Town 32 11 7 14 46 58 -12 29
12 Gillingham Reserves 32 11 6 15 62 57 +5 28
13 Betteshanger CW 32 9 6 17 44 68 -24 24
14 Sheppey United 32 8 4 20 43 80 -37 20
15 Chatham 32 7 5 20 48 90 -42 19
16 Faversham Town 32 5 5 22 37 97 -60 15
17 Whitstable Town 32 2 8 22 29 98 -69 12



Season Summary 1955/56
Competition Summary
Kent League Division 1 11th (17)
FA Cup 1st Qualifying Round
Kent League Cup 1st Round
Kent Senior Cup 4th Qualifying Round

Player Stats 1955/56
No Missing matches
Player League Apps League Goals Cup Apps Cup Goals Total Apps Yellow Card - Red Card Total Goals
Cyril Borthwick 31 (0) 2 5 (0) 1 36 (0) 0 - 0 3
Ron Daly 30 (0) 13 6 (0) 0 36 (0) 0 - 0 13
Ernie Adams 27 (0) 3 6 (0) 0 33 (0) 0 - 0 3
Geoff Steiner 27 (0) 0 5 (0) 1 32 (0) 0 - 0 1
Reg Chapman 25 (0) 0 5 (0) 0 30 (0) 0 - 0 0
Peter Mulheron 24 (0) 5 2 (0) 0 26 (0) 0 - 0 5
Frank Rowden 21 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 23 (0) 0 - 0 0
Billy Scott 17 (0) 5 2 (0) 0 19 (0) 0 - 0 5
Len Woodcock 16 (0) 1 3 (0) 0 19 (0) 0 - 0 1
Tich Haywood 13 (0) 5 5 (0) 0 18 (0) 0 - 0 5
Harry Freeman 11 (0) 0 4 (0) 1 15 (0) 0 - 0 1
Ted Hanckey 11 (0) 0 4 (0) 0 15 (0) 0 - 0 0
John Oldham 14 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 15 (0) 0 - 0 0
Arthur Nixon 13 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 13 (0) 0 - 0 0
Chris Bertchin 8 (0) 1 3 (0) 1 11 (0) 0 - 0 2
Malcolm Collins 10 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 11 (0) 0 - 0 0
Fergus Lunn 7 (0) 0 4 (0) 0 11 (0) 0 - 0 0
Cyril Bacon 6 (0) 0 2 (0) 2 8 (0) 0 - 0 2
Harry Gray 5 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 6 (0) 0 - 0 0
Cliff Norman 5 (0) 1 1 (0) 0 6 (0) 0 - 0 1
Dave Stevens 4 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 4 (0) 0 - 0 0
John Togher 4 (0) 1 0 (0) 0 4 (0) 0 - 0 1
Don Wade 3 (0) 1 1 (0) 1 4 (0) 0 - 0 2
Gordon Burden 3 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 3 (0) 0 - 0 0
Harry Luke 3 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 3 (0) 0 - 0 0
Geo Duke 2 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 - 0 0
Peter Gilbert 2 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 - 0 0
Brian Mynheer 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 - 0 0
Roy Philpott 0 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 - 0 0
missing player details 2 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 - 0 0
Roy Summers 2 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 - 0 0
Bill Theobald 2 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 - 0 0
David Bumpstead 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 - 0 0
George Sergeant 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 - 0 0
Ken Woodcock 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 - 0 0
Own Goal --- 2 --- 1 --- --- 3