Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1958/59 | 1959/60 | 1960/61

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 22nd Aug Hinckley Athletic(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-8
--- thumb-1
Wed 26th Aug Romford(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-0
2,800 -
Sat 29th Aug Exeter City Reserves(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-0
2,950 thumb-1
Wed 02nd Sep Ramsgate Athletic(H) Southern League Cup (Qualifying Round 1st Leg) W0n 2-0
1,961 thumb-1
Sat 05th Sep Tunbridge Wells United(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-1
1,150 -
Sat 12th Sep Bexleyheath and Welling(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-1
1,516 thumb-1
Wed 16th Sep Dover(A) Kent Senior Shield (1st Round) W0n 0-1
1,097 -
Thu 17th Sep Romford(A) Southern League Division One W0n 3-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 19th Sep Deal Town(A) FA Cup (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 26th Sep Clacton Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 5-1
2,217 thumb-1
Sat 03rd Oct Folkestone Town(H) FA Cup (2nd Qualifying Round) W0n 1-0
3,836 thumb-1
Mon 05th Oct Ramsgate Athletic(A) Southern League Cup (Qualifying Round 2nd Leg) W0n 1-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 10th Oct Sittingbourne(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-0
2,400 thumb-1
Sat 17th Oct Betteshanger(H) FA Cup (3rd Qualifying Round) W0n 3-0
2,534 thumb-1
Mon 19th Oct Chelsea(H) Friendly W0n 2-7
4,500 thumb-1
Sat 24th Oct Kidderminster Harriers(A) Southern League Division One W0n 3-1
1,000 thumb-1
Mon 26th Oct Tonbridge(A) Friendly W0n 0-2
--- -
Sat 31st Oct Gravesend and Northfleet(A) FA Cup (4th Qualifying Round) W0n 2-1
4,752 thumb-1
Sat 07th Nov Cambridge United(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
2,470 thumb-1
Tue 10th Nov Ramsgate Athletic(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 14th Nov Brentford(A) FA Cup (1st Round) W0n 0-5
13,900 thumb-1
Thu 19th Nov Romford(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round) W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 21st Nov Merthyr Tydfil(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
1,400 thumb-1
Wed 25th Nov Romford(H) Southern League Cup (1st Round Replay) W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 28th Nov Gloucester City(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
1,647 thumb-1
Sat 05th Dec Yiewsley(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-3
2,000 thumb-1
Sat 12th Dec Margate(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-3
1,590 thumb-1
Mon 14th Dec Charlton Athletic(H) Friendly W0n 1-5
1,465 thumb-1
Sat 19th Dec Hinckley Athletic(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
1,010 thumb-1
Sat 26th Dec Folkestone Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-4
2,302 thumb-1
Mon 28th Dec Folkestone Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
2,066 thumb-1
Sat 02nd Jan Exeter City Reserves(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-3
2,148 -
Sat 09th Jan Burton Albion(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-1
993 thumb-1
Sat 23rd Jan Rugby Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 3-5
500 thumb-1
Sat 06th Feb Rugby Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
1,136 thumb-1
Sat 13th Feb Tunbridge Wells United(H) Kent Senior Cup (1st Round) W0n 4-5
1,277 thumb-1
Sat 20th Feb Ramsgate Athletic(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
975 thumb-1
Sat 27th Feb Sittingbourne(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-0
1,445 thumb-1
Mon 29th Feb Tunbridge Wells United(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
--- -
Sat 05th Mar Guildford City(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
2,502 thumb-1
Sat 12th Mar Kidderminster Harriers(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-1
1,480 thumb-1
Sat 19th Mar Trowbridge Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-2
1,242 thumb-1
Sat 26th Mar Cambridge United(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
1,144 thumb-1
Wed 30th Mar Burton Albion(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 02nd Apr Corby Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 3-1
600 -
Wed 06th Apr Guildford City(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 09th Apr Merthyr Tydfil(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
1,188 thumb-1
Fri 15th Apr Dover(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
1,500 -
Sat 16th Apr Gloucester City(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
1,000 thumb-1
Wed 20th Apr Dover(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-3
1,500 thumb-1
Sat 23rd Apr Yiewsley(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
877 thumb-1
Wed 27th Apr Bexleyheath and Welling(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-3
--- -
Sat 30th Apr Margate(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-2
1,483 thumb-1
Mon 02nd May Corby Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-0
--- -
Wed 04th May Clacton Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
--- -
Fri 06th May Trowbridge Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1

League Table 1959/60
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Clacton Town 42 27 5 10 106 69 +37 59
2 Romford 42 21 11 10 65 40 +25 53
3 Folkestone Town 42 23 5 14 93 71 +22 51
4 Exeter City Reserves 42 23 3 16 85 63 +22 49
5 Guildford City 42 19 9 14 79 56 +23 47
6 Sittingbourne 42 20 7 15 66 56 +10 47
7 Margate 42 20 6 16 88 77 +11 46
8 Trowbridge Town 42 18 9 15 89 78 +11 45
9 Cambridge United 42 18 9 15 71 72 -1 45
10 Yiewsley 42 16 11 15 83 71 +12 43
11 Bexleyheath and Welling 42 16 11 15 85 77 +8 43
12 Merthyr Tydfil 42 16 10 16 63 65 -2 42
13 Ramsgate Athletic 42 16 8 18 84 85 -1 40
14 Ashford Town 42 14 12 16 61 70 -9 40
15 Tunbridge Wells United 42 17 5 20 77 73 +4 39
16 Hinckley Athletic 42 14 8 20 62 74 -12 36
17 Gloucester City 42 13 9 20 56 84 -28 35
18 Dover 42 14 6 22 59 85 -26 34
19 Kidderminster Harriers 42 14 6 22 59 97 -38 34
20 Corby Town 42 15 3 24 75 91 -16 33
21 Burton Albion 42 11 10 21 51 79 -28 32
22 Rugby Town 42 10 11 21 67 91 -24 31


Season Summary 1959/60
Competition Summary
Southern League Division One 14th (22)
FA Cup 1st Round Proper
Southern League Cup 1st Round
Kent Senior Cup 1st Round

Player Stats 1959/60
Missing matches: 6
Player League Apps League Goals Cup Apps Cup Goals Total Apps Total Goals
John Archer 23 (0) 0 11 (0) 0 34 (0) 0
Les Bennett 8 (0) 2 2 (0) 0 10 (0) 2
John Brainbridge 16 (0) 0 8 (0) 0 24 (0) 0
? Brockie 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Bruce Bryson 28 (0) 4 11 (0) 1 39 (0) 5
Gordon Burden 27 (0) 5 6 (0) 1 33 (0) 6
Graham Clarke 23 (0) 1 2 (0) 0 25 (0) 1
Malcolm Collins 31 (0) 12 10 (0) 2 41 (0) 14
Peter Gilbert 2 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
? Grey 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
John Hamblin 1 (0) 0 3 (0) 0 4 (0) 0
John Harris 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
Arthur Hughes 9 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 11 (0) 0
Ian Hunt 21 (0) 0 5 (0) 0 26 (0) 0
Jimmy Jenkins 17 (0) 7 3 (0) 4 20 (0) 11
Fred Lillicrap 12 (0) 0 3 (0) 0 15 (0) 0
? Loomer 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Ian Luckhurst 3 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 4 (0) 0
Mick Morton 34 (0) 0 11 (0) 0 45 (0) 0
Don Murfet 16 (0) 1 0 (0) 0 16 (0) 1
Arthur Nixon 30 (0) 0 11 (0) 0 41 (0) 0
Ollie Norris 8 (0) 4 0 (0) 0 8 (0) 4
? Pickett 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Andrew Prentice 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Mike Reader 2 (0) 2 1 (0) 0 3 (0) 2
George Roelich 2 (0) 0 3 (0) 1 5 (0) 1
Richard Roelich 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
Don Rossiter 20 (0) 6 10 (0) 4 30 (0) 10
Micky Ryan 2 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 3 (0) 0
Tommy Sanders 14 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 14 (0) 0
Dave Stevens 36 (0) 1 11 (0) 0 47 (0) 1
Ron Vigar 19 (0) 8 11 (0) 2 30 (0) 10