Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1959/60 | 1960/61 | 1961/62

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 20th Aug Margate(H) Southern League Division One W0n 5-0
1,746 thumb-1
Sat 27th Aug Yiewsley(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
1,300 thumb-1
Mon 29th Aug Tonbridge(H) Southern League Cup (Qualifying Round 1st Leg) W0n 2-0
1,870 thumb-1
Sat 03rd Sep Burton Albion(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-0
1,494 thumb-1
Mon 05th Sep Tonbridge(A) Southern League Cup (Qualifying Round 2nd Leg) W0n 1-2
1,800 -
Sat 10th Sep Margate(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-4
1,900 thumb-1
Sat 17th Sep Merthyr Tydfil(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-2
1,614 thumb-1
Wed 21st Sep Sittingbourne(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 24th Sep Gloucester City(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
1,000 thumb-1
Wed 28th Sep Nuneaton Borough(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 01st Oct Kettering Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-3
2,631 thumb-1
Sat 08th Oct Hinckley Athletic(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-2
1,091 thumb-1
Mon 10th Oct Ramsgate Athletic(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 3-2
1,000 thumb-1
Sat 15th Oct Poole Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-3
1,273 thumb-1
Sat 22nd Oct Margate(H) FA Cup (4th Qualifying Round) W0n 1-1
2,132 thumb-1
Wed 26th Oct Margate(A) FA Cup (4th Qualifying Round Replay) W0n 2-1
2,445 thumb-1
Sat 29th Oct Cambridge United(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
1,522 thumb-1
Sat 05th Nov Gillingham(H) FA Cup (1st Round) W0n 1-2
5,500 thumb-1
Mon 07th Nov Folkestone Town(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round) W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 12th Nov Trowbridge Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
1,135 -
Mon 14th Nov Folkestone Town(H) Southern League Cup (1st Round Replay) W0n 5-1
2,201 thumb-1
Sat 19th Nov Gloucester City(H) Southern League Division One W0n 5-1
1,496 thumb-1
Mon 21st Nov Folkestone Town(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 1-4
1,960 thumb-1
Sat 26th Nov Rugby Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 5-6
1,500 -
Mon 28th Nov Ramsgate Athletic(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 0-0
--- -
Sat 03rd Dec Tunbridge Wells United(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-0
622 thumb-1
Sat 10th Dec Corby Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
450 -
Sat 17th Dec Ramsgate Athletic(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-1
1,037 thumb-1
Sat 24th Dec Dover(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-0
1,221 -
Mon 26th Dec Dover(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
1,475 thumb-1
Wed 11th Jan Margate(H) Southern League Cup (2nd Round) W0n 3-1
1,158 thumb-1
Sat 14th Jan Burton Albion(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
1,500 thumb-1
Sat 21st Jan Sittingbourne(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-1
1,211 thumb-1
Sat 28th Jan Canterbury City(A) Kent Senior Cup (1st Round) W0n 4-2
575 thumb-1
Tue 07th Feb Merthyr Tydfil(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
900 -
Sat 11th Feb Dover(H) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round) W0n 1-1
1,702 -
Wed 15th Feb Dover(A) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round Replay) W0n 2-3
--- -
Sat 18th Feb Kettering Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-2
1,010 thumb-1
Wed 22nd Feb Folkestone Town(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 2-4
--- -
Sat 25th Feb Hinckley Athletic(A) Southern League Division One W0n 3-5
451 -
Mon 27th Feb Chelmsford City(A) Southern League Cup (Quarter Final) W0n 1-2
1,145 thumb-1
Wed 01st Mar Yiewsley(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 04th Mar Poole Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
941 thumb-1
Sat 11th Mar Nuneaton Borough(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
1,420 -
Wed 15th Mar Barry Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
--- -
Sat 18th Mar Trowbridge Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-0
823 thumb-1
Wed 22nd Mar Bexleyheath and Welling(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 25th Mar Ramsgate Athletic(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-4
1,211 thumb-1
Mon 27th Mar Bexleyheath and Welling(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Fri 31st Mar Canterbury City(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
1,189 thumb-1
Sat 01st Apr Cambridge United(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-0
993 thumb-1
Mon 03rd Apr Canterbury City(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Fri 07th Apr Barry Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 15th Apr Rugby Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
810 thumb-1
Sat 22nd Apr Tunbridge Wells United(A) Southern League Division One W0n 3-0
300 -
Sat 29th Apr Corby Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-4
658 thumb-1

League Table 1960/61
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Kettering Town 40 26 7 7 100 55 +45 59
2 Cambridge United 40 25 5 10 100 53 +47 55
3 Bexleyheath and Welling 40 22 8 10 93 46 +47 52
4 Merthyr Tydfil 40 23 6 11 88 65 +23 52
5 Sittingbourne 40 21 10 9 77 63 +14 52
6 Ramsgate Athletic 40 19 7 14 77 56 +21 45
7 Rugby Town 40 18 9 13 89 72 +17 45
8 Hinckley Athletic 40 16 13 11 73 59 +14 45
9 Poole Town 40 19 5 16 71 63 +8 43
10 Corby Town 40 16 10 14 82 73 +9 42
11 Barry Town 40 16 9 15 65 74 -9 41
12 Yiewsley 40 17 7 16 66 78 -12 41
13 Trowbridge Town 40 14 10 16 71 73 -2 38
14 Ashford Town 40 14 8 18 61 67 -6 36
15 Margate 40 11 12 17 62 75 -13 34
16 Dover 40 12 7 21 67 74 -7 31
17 Canterbury City 40 10 10 20 52 75 -23 30
18 Nuneaton Borough 40 11 7 22 60 91 -31 29
19 Burton Albion 40 12 4 24 64 85 -21 28
20 Tunbridge Wells United 40 8 5 27 56 115 -59 21
21 Gloucester City 40 7 7 26 40 102 -62 21

League Table 1960/61
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Folkestone 4 4 0 0 12 5 +7 8
2 Ashford Town 4 1 1 2 6 10 -4 3
3 Ramsgate Athletic 4 0 1 3 4 7 -3 1

Season Summary 1960/61
Competition Summary
Southern League Division One 14th (21)
FA Cup 1st Round Proper
Southern League Cup Quarter Final
Kent Senior Cup 2nd Round
Kent Floodlight Cup Group Stage

Player Stats 1960/61
Missing matches: 6
Player League Apps League Goals Cup Apps Cup Goals Total Apps Total Goals
Pat Ades 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Jimmy Bailey 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Gordon Burden 39 (0) 11 10 (0) 1 49 (0) 12
Peter Burdon 9 (0) 4 2 (0) 2 11 (0) 6
Don Campbell 3 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 4 (0) 0
Graham Clarke 33 (0) 0 9 (0) 1 42 (0) 1
Alan Dennis 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Peter Gilbert 7 (0) 0 3 (0) 0 10 (0) 0
Jack Gregory 36 (0) 0 8 (0) 0 44 (0) 0
Brian Hall 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
John Hamblin 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
John Harris 37 (0) 0 10 (0) 1 47 (0) 1
Les Hayden 8 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 8 (0) 0
Norman Hooper 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Arthur Hughes 36 (0) 0 6 (0) 2 42 (0) 2
Ian Hunt 20 (0) 1 6 (0) 0 26 (0) 1
John Jarvis 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Dave McFall 23 (0) 4 4 (0) 3 27 (0) 7
Arthur Nixon 7 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 9 (0) 0
Ollie Norris 21 (0) 6 4 (0) 1 25 (0) 7
Brian Payne 40 (0) 12 10 (0) 0 50 (0) 12
Tommy Sanders 31 (0) 0 10 (0) 0 41 (0) 0
George Sergeant 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Dave Stevens 39 (0) 3 10 (0) 1 49 (0) 4
Albert Stokes 10 (0) 2 3 (0) 1 13 (0) 3
Pat Vaughan 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Joe White 34 (0) 17 10 (0) 8 44 (0) 25