Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1962/63 | 1963/64 | 1964/65
List Grid

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 17th Aug Bexley United(H) Friendly W0n 2-1
500 -
Sat 24th Aug Deal Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-1
952 thumb-1
Wed 28th Aug Poole Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 31st Aug Crawley Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-5
--- thumb-1
Wed 04th Sep Canterbury City(H) Southern League Cup (1st Round 1st Leg) W0n 2-0
1,428 thumb-1
Thu 12th Sep Canterbury City(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round 2nd Leg) W0n 0-0
1,039 thumb-1
Sat 14th Sep Yiewsley(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Tue 17th Sep Poole Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-4
--- thumb-1
Sat 21st Sep Burton Albion(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-2
844 thumb-1
Sat 28th Sep Barry Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-3
--- -
Wed 02nd Oct Bexleyheath and Welling(A) Kent Senior Shield (1st Round) W0n 1-3
562 thumb-1
Sat 05th Oct Gravesend and Northfleet(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Wed 09th Oct Tunbridge Wells Rangers(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-0
--- -
Sat 12th Oct Folkestone Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-0
1,931 thumb-1
Wed 16th Oct Dover(A) Southern League Cup (2nd Round) W0n 3-4
1,340 thumb-1
Sat 19th Oct Folkestone Town(A) FA Cup (4th Qualifying Round) W0n 0-3
3,441 thumb-1
Sat 26th Oct Ramsgate Athletic(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Wed 30th Oct Dover(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 0-2
1,103 thumb-1
Sat 02nd Nov Canterbury City(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
1,051 thumb-1
Mon 04th Nov Margate(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 1-1
1,666 thumb-1
Wed 06th Nov West Ham United(H) Friendly W0n 1-7
2,500 thumb-1
Sat 09th Nov Kings Lynn(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
951 thumb-1
Thu 14th Nov Cheltenham Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 16th Nov Gloucester City(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 23rd Nov Stevenage Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Wed 27th Nov Folkestone Town(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) A-A
--- thumb-1
Sat 30th Nov Clacton Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 3-2
358 -
Sat 07th Dec Burton Albion(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
1,000 thumb-1
Wed 11th Dec Dover(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 1-2
632 -
Sat 14th Dec Deal Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
286 -
Wed 18th Dec Ramsgate Athletic(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 4-1
400 -
Sat 21st Dec Crawley Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 6-1
537 thumb-1
Thu 26th Dec Sittingbourne(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-0
631 thumb-1
Sat 28th Dec Sittingbourne(H) Southern League Division One A-A
645 thumb-1
Sat 04th Jan Dover(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
955 thumb-1
Wed 08th Jan Hastings United(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 3-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 11th Jan Trowbridge Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
900 -
Tue 14th Jan Ramsgate Athletic(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 18th Jan Yiewsley(H) Southern League Division One W0n 4-0
575 thumb-1
Sat 25th Jan Dover(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-0
828 thumb-1
Sat 01st Feb Cheltenham Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
1,524 -
Wed 05th Feb Folkestone Town(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 0-2
--- -
Sat 08th Feb Barry Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 10-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 15th Feb Bromley(A) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round) W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Wed 19th Feb Bromley(H) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round Replay) W0n 3-3
680 -
Sat 22nd Feb Folkestone Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Wed 26th Feb Bromley(H) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round 2nd Replay) W0n 4-1
400 -
Sat 29th Feb Tunbridge Wells Rangers(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-0
--- thumb-1
Wed 04th Mar Margate(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 2-3
504 thumb-1
Sat 07th Mar Ramsgate Athletic(A) Kent Senior Cup (3rd Round) W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Wed 11th Mar Ramsgate Athletic(H) Kent Senior Cup (3rd Round Replay) W0n 0-1
954 thumb-1
Sat 14th Mar Canterbury City(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 21st Mar Kings Lynn(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-3
1,552 thumb-1
Fri 27th Mar Tonbridge(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-0
1,160 thumb-1
Sat 28th Mar Corby Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Mon 30th Mar Tonbridge(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-3
--- thumb-1
Wed 08th Apr Sittingbourne(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
610 thumb-1
Sat 11th Apr Clacton Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-3
559 thumb-1
Mon 13th Apr Folkestone Town(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Thu 16th Apr Ramsgate Athletic(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-0
--- -
Mon 20th Apr Corby Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 25th Apr Gloucester City(H) Southern League Division One W0n 4-0
--- thumb-1
Mon 27th Apr Trowbridge Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 4-1
--- thumb-1
Wed 29th Apr Stevenage Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Fri 01st May Gravesend and Northfleet(A) Southern League Division One W0n 3-1
--- thumb-1


Southern League Division One

League Table 1963/64
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Folkestone Town 42 28 7 7 82 38 +44 63
2 Kings Lynn 42 28 5 9 94 44 +50 61
3 Cheltenham Town 42 25 10 7 92 48 +44 60
4 Tonbridge 42 24 11 7 98 54 +44 59
5 Corby Town 42 24 7 11 114 56 +58 55
6 Stevenage Town 42 21 6 15 70 59 +11 48
7 Ashford Town 42 19 9 14 73 57 +16 47
8 Burton Albion 42 19 8 15 76 70 +6 46
9 Poole Town 42 17 11 14 75 61 +14 45
10 Dover 42 18 9 15 86 76 +10 45
11 Canterbury City 42 16 12 14 66 66 0 44
12 Crawley Town 42 20 2 20 81 71 +10 42
13 Trowbridge Town 42 16 9 17 71 78 -7 41
14 Clacton Town 42 19 1 22 76 88 -12 39
15 Gloucester City 42 17 4 21 88 89 -1 38
16 Yiewsley 42 15 8 19 63 77 -14 38
17 Sittingbourne 42 15 8 19 52 70 -18 38
18 Ramsgate Athletic 42 13 9 20 57 55 +2 35
19 Tunbridge Wells Rangers 42 10 8 24 47 89 -42 28
20 Gravesend and Northfleet 42 7 9 26 43 96 -53 23
21 Deal Town 42 5 7 30 48 106 -58 17
22 Barry Town 42 3 6 33 33 137 -104 12


Kent Floodlight Competition - Eastern Section

League Table 1963/64
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Dover 8 4 3 1 12 8 +4 11
2 Ramsgate Athletic 8 5 1 2 14 12 +2 11
3 Folkestone Town 8 3 2 3 15 13 +2 8
4 Ashford Town 8 2 1 5 10 14 -4 5
5 Margate 8 2 1 5 10 14 -4 5


Season Summary 1963/64
Competition Summary
Southern League Division One 7th (22)
FA Cup 4th Qualifying Round
Southern League Cup 2nd Round
Kent Senior Cup 3rd Round
Kent Floodlight Cup Group Stage
Kent Senior Shield 1st Round
Kent Floodlight Cup Group Stage

Player Stats 1963/64
Missing matches: 3
Player League Apps League Goals Cup Apps Cup Goals Total Apps Total Goals
Alex Garden 40 (0) 11 16 (0) 1 56 (0) 12
John Harris 39 (0) 2 17 (0) 0 56 (0) 2
John Tennant 40 (0) 0 16 (0) 0 56 (0) 0
Bob Walker 40 (0) 2 16 (0) 0 56 (0) 2
John Hamblin 40 (0) 0 15 (0) 1 55 (0) 1
Billy Rees 37 (0) 7 18 (0) 3 55 (0) 10
Malcolm Collins 34 (0) 6 17 (0) 8 51 (0) 14
Norman Stevens 33 (0) 2 17 (0) 0 50 (0) 2
Johnny Smith 36 (0) 4 11 (0) 2 47 (0) 6
Lawrie Thompson 25 (0) 6 11 (0) 3 36 (0) 9
Billy Griffiths 18 (0) 9 10 (0) 3 28 (0) 12
Mick Robertson 18 (0) 10 5 (0) 1 23 (0) 11
Paul Nicolas 16 (0) 5 5 (1) 3 21 (1) 8
Terry Matthews 13 (0) 0 8 (0) 1 21 (0) 1
Dave Stevens 6 (0) 0 7 (0) 1 13 (0) 1
missing player details 6 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 7 (0) 0
Tom Robertson 5 (0) 4 2 (0) 0 7 (0) 4
Bernard Sibley 5 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 7 (0) 0
Brian Hall 2 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 4 (0) 0
Barry Kendall 3 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 3 (0) 0
John Brown 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
John Kenny 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
Derek Sage 2 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
Billy West 2 (0) 1 0 (0) 0 2 (0) 1
Fred Faulkner 0 (0) 0 0 (1) 0 0 (1) 0
Own Goal --- 4 --- 0 --- 4