Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1963/64 | 1964/65 | 1965/66

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 08th Aug Folkestone Town(H) Friendly W0n 2-2
300 thumb-1
Sat 15th Aug Hastings United(A) Friendly W0n 1-1
--- -
Sat 22nd Aug Corby Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
--- -
Wed 26th Aug Hinckley Athletic(H) Southern League Division One W0n 4-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 29th Aug Wimbledon(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Wed 02nd Sep Crawley Town(H) Southern League Cup (1st Round 1st Leg) W0n 1-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 05th Sep Sheppey United(A) FA Cup (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 1-0
400 thumb-1
Wed 09th Sep Crawley Town(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round 2nd Leg) W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 12th Sep Burton Albion(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
738 thumb-1
Mon 14th Sep Tonbridge(A) Kent Senior Shield (1st Round) W0n 3-8
--- thumb-1
Thu 17th Sep Hinckley Athletic(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 19th Sep Deal Town(H) FA Cup (2nd Qualifying Round) W0n 2-2
931 thumb-1
Tue 22nd Sep Deal Town(A) FA Cup (2nd Qualifying Round Replay) W0n 2-4
1,034 thumb-1
Sat 26th Sep Poole Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Wed 30th Sep Deal Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-3
--- -
Sat 03rd Oct Hereford United(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-5
--- thumb-1
Mon 05th Oct Dover(H) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 0-1
644 thumb-1
Sat 10th Oct Sittingbourne(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Mon 12th Oct Hastings United(A) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 0-6
767 thumb-1
Wed 14th Oct Stevenage Town(A) Southern League Division One A-A
--- thumb-1
Sat 17th Oct Hillingdon Borough(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-3
--- thumb-1
Mon 19th Oct Dartford(H) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 1-6
589 thumb-1
Sat 24th Oct Barry Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 5-1
--- thumb-1
Mon 26th Oct Tonbridge(A) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 2-2
1,231 thumb-1
Sat 31st Oct Merthyr Tydfil(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-4
--- thumb-1
Mon 02nd Nov Sheppey United(H) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 3-2
439 thumb-1
Wed 04th Nov Crawley Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-8
--- -
Sat 07th Nov Tunbridge Wells Rangers(H) Southern League Division One W0n 5-2
--- thumb-1
Mon 16th Nov Hastings United(H) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 1-1
506 thumb-1
Sat 21st Nov Hereford United(H) Southern League Division One W0n 4-1
--- thumb-1
Wed 25th Nov Dover(A) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 1-6
789 -
Fri 27th Nov Gravesend and Northfleet(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-1
--- -
Mon 30th Nov Tonbridge(H) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 2-4
327 thumb-1
Sat 05th Dec Canterbury City(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-3
--- thumb-1
Tue 08th Dec Gravesend and Northfleet(A) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 1-4
339 thumb-1
Sat 12th Dec Corby Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-3
--- thumb-1
Tue 15th Dec Canterbury City(A) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 1-3
450 thumb-1
Sat 19th Dec Wimbledon(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-7
--- thumb-1
Mon 21st Dec Margate(H) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 2-4
335 thumb-1
Sat 26th Dec Dover(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 02nd Jan Hillingdon Borough(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-3
--- thumb-1
Mon 04th Jan Margate(A) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 0-5
1,025 thumb-1
Sat 09th Jan Trowbridge Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Mon 11th Jan Deal Town(A) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 0-0
350 thumb-1
Sat 16th Jan Burton Albion(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-4
1,385 thumb-1
Mon 18th Jan Folkestone Town(H) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 2-0
576 thumb-1
Wed 20th Jan Dover(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
--- -
Wed 20th Jan Sheppey United(A) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) p-p
--- thumb-1
Sat 23rd Jan Gloucester City(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 30th Jan Trowbridge Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 3-2
--- thumb-1
Mon 01st Feb Deal Town(H) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 3-0
360 -
Sat 06th Feb Poole Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Mon 08th Feb Ramsgate Athletic(H) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 2-1
427 -
Sat 13th Feb Stevenage Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-1
--- -
Mon 15th Feb Canterbury City(H) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 2-1
424 thumb-1
Sat 20th Feb Deal Town(A) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round) W0n 2-2
307 -
Mon 22nd Feb Deal Town(H) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round Replay) W0n 4-6
517 -
Sat 27th Feb Crawley Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 02nd Mar Sheppey United(A) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 1-3
300 -
Sat 06th Mar Sittingbourne(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Mon 08th Mar Stevenage Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-7
--- -
Sat 13th Mar Merthyr Tydfil(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Wed 17th Mar Folkestone Town(A) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 0-6
--- thumb-1
Sat 20th Mar Tunbridge Wells Rangers(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Tue 23rd Mar Ramsgate Athletic(A) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 0-2
393 -
Sat 27th Mar Kettering Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-1
225 thumb-1
Tue 30th Mar Canterbury City(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-4
--- thumb-1
Mon 05th Apr Dartford(A) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 2-8
810 thumb-1
Wed 07th Apr Kettering Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-0
--- -
Sat 10th Apr Gravesend and Northfleet(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-3
--- thumb-1
Fri 16th Apr Ramsgate Athletic(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 17th Apr Barry Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Mon 19th Apr Ramsgate Athletic(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Thu 22nd Apr Gravesend and Northfleet(H) Kent Floodlight League (Group Stage) W0n 3-0
286 -
Sat 24th Apr Deal Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- -
Tue 27th Apr Gloucester City(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-5
--- -

League Table 1964/65
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Hereford United 42 34 4 4 124 39 +85 72
2 Wimbledon 42 24 13 5 108 52 +56 61
3 Poole Town 42 26 6 10 92 56 +36 58
4 Corby Town 42 24 7 11 88 55 +33 55
5 Stevenage Town 42 19 13 10 83 43 +40 51
6 Hillingdon Borough 42 21 7 14 105 63 +42 49
7 Crawley Town 42 22 5 15 83 52 +31 49
8 Merthyr Tydfil 42 20 9 13 75 59 +16 49
9 Gloucester City 42 19 10 13 68 65 +3 48
10 Burton Albion 42 20 7 15 83 75 +8 47
11 Canterbury City 42 13 16 13 73 53 +20 42
12 Kettering Town 42 14 13 15 74 64 +10 41
13 Ramsgate Athletic 42 16 8 18 51 59 -8 40
14 Dover 42 14 10 18 54 59 -5 38
15 Hinckley Athletic 42 13 9 20 57 81 -24 35
16 Trowbridge Town 42 13 5 24 68 106 -38 31
17 Ashford Town 42 11 8 23 60 98 -38 30
18 Barry Town 42 11 7 24 47 103 -56 29
19 Deal Town 42 7 13 22 61 127 -66 27
20 Tunbridge Wells Rangers 42 10 6 26 51 107 -56 26
21 Gravesend and Northfleet 42 9 7 26 57 101 -44 25
22 Sittingbourne 42 8 5 29 58 103 -45 21

League Table 1964/65
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Dartford 22 16 3 3 60 26 +34 35
2 Margate 22 16 2 4 73 28 +45 34
3 Hastings United 22 15 3 4 62 21 +42 33
4 Tonbridge 22 12 2 8 60 48 +12 26
5 Folkestone Town 21 11 4 6 37 30 +7 26
6 Ramsgate Athletic 21 5 9 7 29 37 -8 20
7 Dover 22 8 3 11 38 36 +2 19
8 Canterbury City 21 8 2 11 28 34 -6 18
9 Gravesend and Northfleet 22 7 2 13 31 57 -26 16
10 Ashford Town 22 6 3 13 29 65 -36 15
11 Sheppey United 22 5 2 15 27 45 -18 12
12 Deal Town 21 2 3 16 25 71 -46 8

Season Summary 1964/65
Competition Summary
Southern League Division One 17th (22)
FA Cup 2nd Qualifying Round
Southern League Cup 1st Round
Kent Senior Cup 2nd Round
Kent Floodlight League 10th (12)

Player Stats 1964/65
Missing matches: 4
Player League Apps League Goals Cup Apps Cup Goals Total Apps Total Goals
Tommy Baker 21 (0) 9 10 (0) 2 31 (0) 11
Malcolm Collins 41 (0) 8 25 (0) 4 66 (0) 12
Derek Finch 6 (0) 2 6 (0) 1 12 (0) 3
Alex Garden 30 (0) 10 19 (0) 6 49 (0) 16
Billy Griffiths 40 (0) 0 21 (0) 1 61 (0) 1
John Hamblin 36 (0) 1 23 (0) 0 59 (0) 1
John Harris 35 (0) 1 16 (0) 1 51 (0) 2
Jimmy Hunt 10 (0) 0 6 (0) 0 16 (0) 0
? Jackson 0 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
Rodney Legge 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
Ken March 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Pat McIntyre 32 (0) 2 22 (0) 0 54 (0) 2
Terry Morris 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
Paul Nicolas 22 (0) 9 15 (0) 1 37 (0) 10
missing player details 4 (0) 0 16 (0) 0 20 (0) 0
Billy Rees 41 (0) 4 26 (0) 1 67 (0) 5
Mick Robertson 7 (0) 6 0 (0) 0 7 (0) 6
Derek Sage 1 (0) 0 5 (0) 0 6 (0) 0
Tommy Sanders 22 (0) 0 13 (0) 0 35 (0) 0
Alan Selway 8 (0) 2 3 (0) 0 11 (0) 2
John Singleton 17 (0) 0 10 (0) 0 27 (0) 0
Johnny Smith 35 (0) 3 18 (0) 3 53 (0) 6
Eddie Stone 25 (0) 1 13 (0) 2 38 (0) 3
Kevin Strickland 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
John Stringer 5 (0) 0 3 (0) 0 8 (0) 0
Roger Sturman 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
Jimmy Surtell 19 (0) 0 10 (0) 0 29 (0) 0