Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1968/69 | 1969/70 | 1970/71
List Grid

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Date Unknown
Dartford(A) Kent Senior Shield (Group Stage) np
--- -
Date Unknown
Dartford(H) Kent Senior Shield (Group Stage) np
--- -
Sat 26th Jul Hastings United(A) Friendly W0n 1-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 02nd Aug Hastings United(H) Friendly --- --- -
Wed 06th Aug Ramsgate Athletic(H) Friendly W0n 1-0
--- -
Sat 09th Aug Wisbech Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-2
--- -
Wed 13th Aug Bexley United(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- -
Sat 16th Aug Banbury United(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-0
--- -
Wed 20th Aug Tonbridge(H) Southern League Cup (1st Round 1st Leg) W0n 3-1
760 thumb-1
Sat 23rd Aug Bedford Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
847 thumb-1
Mon 25th Aug Tonbridge(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round 2nd Leg) W0n 3-1
720 -
Sat 30th Aug Cambridge City(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
2,048 thumb-1
Mon 01st Sep Bexley United(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 06th Sep Dartford(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-2
1,112 thumb-1
Wed 10th Sep Ramsgate Athletic(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-2
1,183 thumb-1
Sat 13th Sep Corby Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-0
--- -
Sat 20th Sep Dover(H) FA Cup (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 0-0
2,344 thumb-1
Wed 24th Sep Dover(A) FA Cup (1st Qualifying Round Replay) W0n 4-2
3,435 -
Thu 25th Sep Wisbech Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
--- -
Sat 27th Sep Hastings United(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1
Wed 01st Oct Dover(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 1-1
1,140 thumb-1
Sat 04th Oct Maidstone United(H) FA Cup (2nd Qualifying Round) W0n 1-0
2,084 thumb-1
Sat 11th Oct Bedford Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-3
3,092 thumb-1
Tue 14th Oct Corby Town(A) Southern League Cup (2nd Round) W0n 1-1
--- -
Sat 18th Oct Canterbury City(H) FA Cup (3rd Qualifying Round) W0n 1-1
1,956 thumb-1
Tue 21st Oct Canterbury City(A) FA Cup (3rd Qualifying Round Replay) W0n 4-1
2,017 thumb-1
Wed 29th Oct Corby Town(H) Southern League Cup (2nd Round Replay) W0n 1-2
1,062 thumb-1
Sat 01st Nov Walton and Hersham(H) FA Cup (4th Qualifying Round) W0n 0-1
2,596 thumb-1
Sat 08th Nov Guildford City(A) FA Trophy (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 0-2
1,689 thumb-1
Wed 12th Nov Dover(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 1-0
540 thumb-1
Sat 15th Nov Dunstable Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 3-1
--- -
Tue 18th Nov Deal Town(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 2-1
--- -
Sat 22nd Nov Barry Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 4-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 29th Nov Gravesend and Northfleet(A) Southern League Division One A-A
--- thumb-1
Wed 03rd Dec Deal Town(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 5-2
482 -
Mon 08th Dec Folkestone(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 0-6
518 -
Sat 13th Dec Dunstable Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 4-0
--- -
Wed 17th Dec Hastings United(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Fri 19th Dec Cambridge City(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-0
--- -
Fri 26th Dec Folkestone(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-2
1,515 thumb-1
Sat 27th Dec Folkestone(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-3
1,571 thumb-1
Sat 03rd Jan Cheltenham Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- -
Sat 10th Jan Gravesend and Northfleet(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-2
--- thumb-1
Wed 14th Jan Margate(H) Kent Senior Shield (Group Stage) W0n 4-0
472 thumb-1
Wed 21st Jan Folkestone(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 2-0
754 -
Sat 24th Jan Guildford City(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-2
--- thumb-1
Wed 28th Jan Corby Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 3-2
--- -
Sat 31st Jan Salisbury(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-0
--- -
Wed 04th Feb Folkestone(A) Kent Senior Shield (Group Stage) W0n 0-3
824 thumb-1
Sat 07th Feb Banbury United(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-0
--- -
Sat 14th Feb Snowdown(H) Kent Senior Cup (1st Round) W0n 6-1
597 thumb-1
Sat 21st Feb Dartford(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Mon 23rd Feb Margate(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Quarter Final - 1st Leg) W0n 0-4
889 thumb-1
Wed 25th Feb Gravesend and Northfleet(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- -
Sat 28th Feb Trowbridge Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 07th Mar Barry Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-0
--- -
Mon 09th Mar Margate(A) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round) W0n 2-6
969 thumb-1
Sat 14th Mar Tonbridge(H) Southern League Division One W0n 5-0
--- thumb-1
Mon 16th Mar Margate(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Quarter Final - 2nd Leg) W0n 2-6
959 -
Sat 21st Mar Merthyr Tydfil(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-0
--- -
Tue 24th Mar Ramsgate Athletic(A) Kent Senior Shield (Group Stage) W0n 0-0
198 -
Fri 27th Mar Canterbury City(H) Southern League Division One W0n 2-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 28th Mar Ramsgate Athletic(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
535 -
Mon 30th Mar Canterbury City(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Fri 03rd Apr Cheltenham Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 04th Apr Folkestone(H) Kent Senior Shield (Group Stage) W0n 1-2
347 -
Mon 06th Apr Margate(A) Kent Senior Shield (Group Stage) W0n 0-3
690 thumb-1
Fri 10th Apr Merthyr Tydfil(H) Southern League Division One W0n 6-0
--- thumb-1
Mon 13th Apr Tonbridge(A) Southern League Division One W0n 2-1
660 -
Wed 15th Apr Ramsgate Athletic(H) Kent Senior Shield (Group Stage) W0n 0-2
250 -
Sat 18th Apr Rugby Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 25th Apr Guildford City(A) Southern League Division One W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Mon 27th Apr Salisbury(H) Southern League Division One W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Thu 30th Apr Trowbridge Town(A) Southern League Division One W0n 0-0
--- -
Sat 02nd May Rugby Town(H) Southern League Division One W0n 4-1
1,227 thumb-1


Southern League Division One

League Table 1969/70
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Bedford Town 42 26 9 7 92 37 +55 61
2 Cambridge City 42 26 8 8 104 43 +61 60
3 Dartford 42 24 11 7 88 46 +42 59
4 Ashford Town 42 19 16 7 71 42 +29 54
5 Rugby Town 42 20 10 12 82 66 +16 50
6 Trowbridge Town 42 20 8 14 72 65 +7 48
7 Hastings United 42 18 11 13 67 51 +16 47
8 Guildford City 42 19 9 14 68 58 +10 47
9 Banbury United 42 19 8 15 86 72 +14 46
10 Cheltenham Town 42 20 5 17 78 81 -3 45
11 Corby Town 42 14 15 13 57 53 +4 43
12 Canterbury City 42 15 13 14 61 57 +4 43
13 Folkestone 42 19 5 18 57 55 +2 43
14 Ramsgate Athletic 42 14 13 15 53 57 -4 41
15 Salisbury 42 12 14 16 47 53 -6 38
16 Gravesend and Northfleet 42 13 11 18 62 71 -9 37
17 Bexley United 42 10 11 21 58 76 -18 31
18 Dunstable Town 42 11 9 22 52 82 -30 31
19 Merthyr Tydfil 42 9 11 22 40 80 -40 29
20 Barry Town 42 11 6 25 39 76 -37 28
21 Wisbech Town 42 8 9 25 58 116 -58 25
22 Tonbridge 42 4 10 28 46 101 -55 18


Kent Floodlight Competition - Group A

League Table 1969/70
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Ashford Town 6 4 1 1 11 10 +1 56
2 Dover 6 3 1 2 7 5 +2 42
3 Folkestone Town 6 2 0 4 8 6 +2 28
4 Deal Town 6 2 0 4 6 11 -5 26

Kent Senior Shield - Group C

League Table 1969/70
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Folkestone 8 5 1 2 14 9 +5 11
2 Dartford 4 3 0 1 9 4 +5 6
3 Ramsgate 6 2 2 2 6 8 -2 6
4 Margate 8 2 2 4 11 14 -3 6
5 Ashford Town 6 1 1 4 5 10 -5 3


Season Summary 1969/70
Competition Summary
Southern League Division One 4th (22) - Promoted to Southern League Premier
FA Cup 4th Qualifying Round
Southern League Cup 2nd Round
Kent Senior Cup 2nd Round
Kent Floodlight Cup Quarter Final
Kent Senior Shield Group Stage (Games against Dartford not played)

*** Player Stats to be added ***