Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1969/70 | 1970/71 | 1971/72

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 15th Aug Weymouth(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
1,105 thumb-1
Mon 17th Aug Margate(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-1
2,000 thumb-1
Sat 22nd Aug Bedford Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Wed 26th Aug Margate(H) Southern League Cup (1st Round 1st Leg) W0n 2-1
1,276 thumb-1
Sat 29th Aug Kettering Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-3
--- -
Mon 31st Aug Margate(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round 2nd Leg) W0n 0-1
1,357 thumb-1
Sat 05th Sep Barnet(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
1,158 thumb-1
Wed 09th Sep Margate(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-0
1,124 thumb-1
Sat 12th Sep Poole Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 19th Sep Herne Bay(A) FA Cup (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 1-2
744 -
Mon 21st Sep Margate(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round Replay) W0n 0-4
--- thumb-1
Sat 26th Sep Nuneaton Borough(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
--- -
Wed 30th Sep Hereford United(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
1,374 thumb-1
Sat 03rd Oct Nuneaton Borough(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 10th Oct Telford United(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 17th Oct Worcester City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-7
927 thumb-1
Sat 24th Oct Wimbledon(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-4
--- thumb-1
Sat 31st Oct Folkestone(H) FA Trophy (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 07th Nov Bath City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 14th Nov Sheppey United(A) FA Trophy (2nd Qualifying Round) W0n 4-0
--- -
Sat 21st Nov Cambridge City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
642 thumb-1
Sat 28th Nov Kettering Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 05th Dec Bury Town(A) FA Trophy (3rd Qualifying Round) W0n 2-3
--- -
Sat 12th Dec Poole Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 19th Dec Chelmsford City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 02nd Jan Gloucester City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-3
750 -
Sat 09th Jan Hillingdon Borough(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 4-2
--- thumb-1
Wed 20th Jan Dover(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
1,034 thumb-1
Sat 30th Jan Weymouth(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-5
1,061 -
Sat 06th Feb Bath City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 4-3
--- thumb-1
Wed 10th Feb Dover(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-0
1,190 thumb-1
Sat 13th Feb Brett Sports(H) Kent Senior Cup (1st Round) W0n 2-0
578 thumb-1
Sat 20th Feb Worcester City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-3
1,107 -
Mon 22nd Feb Margate(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 3-3
686 -
Tue 02nd Mar Erith and Belvedere(A) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round) W0n 1-0
208 -
Mon 08th Mar Bexley United(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) --- --- thumb-1
Wed 10th Mar Chelmsford City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 13th Mar Cambridge City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-4
1,757 thumb-1
Wed 17th Mar Kings Lynn(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-0
1,010 -
Sat 20th Mar Kings Lynn(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Mon 22nd Mar Dover(A) Kent Senior Cup (Semi Final) W0n 3-4
849 -
Wed 24th Mar Yeovil Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 27th Mar Barnet(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
1,390 thumb-1
Mon 29th Mar Wimbledon(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 03rd Apr Romford(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Fri 09th Apr Dartford(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 10th Apr Romford(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Mon 12th Apr Dartford(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
--- -
Wed 14th Apr Margate(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 2-1
275 -
Sat 17th Apr Yeovil Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Mon 19th Apr Hillingdon Borough(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-4
--- thumb-1
Wed 21st Apr Hereford United(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
4,833 thumb-1
Sat 24th Apr Bedford Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
1,030 thumb-1
Sat 01st May Gloucester City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-2
398 thumb-1
Tue 04th May Telford United(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1

League Table 1970/71
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Yeovil Town 42 25 7 10 66 31 +35 57
2 Cambridge City 42 22 11 9 67 38 +29 55
3 Romford 42 23 9 10 63 42 +21 55
4 Hereford United 42 23 8 11 71 53 +18 54
5 Chelmsford City 42 20 11 11 61 32 +29 51
6 Barnet 42 18 14 10 69 49 +20 50
7 Bedford Town 42 20 10 12 62 46 +16 50
8 Wimbledon 42 20 8 14 72 54 +18 48
9 Worcester City 42 20 8 14 61 46 +15 48
10 Weymouth 42 14 16 12 64 48 +16 44
11 Dartford 42 15 12 15 53 51 +2 42
12 Dover 42 16 9 17 64 63 +1 41
13 Margate 42 15 10 17 64 70 -6 40
14 Hillingdon Borough 42 17 6 19 61 68 -7 40
15 Bath City 42 13 12 17 48 68 -20 38
16 Nuneaton Borough 42 12 12 18 43 66 -23 36
17 Telford United 42 13 8 21 64 70 -6 34
18 Poole Town 42 14 6 22 57 75 -18 34
19 Kings Lynn 42 11 7 24 44 67 -23 29
20 Ashford Town 42 8 13 21 52 86 -34 29
21 Kettering Town 42 8 11 23 48 84 -36 27
22 Gloucester City 42 6 10 26 34 81 -47 22

Season Summary 1970/71
Competition Summary
Southern League Premier Division 20th (22)
FA Cup 1st Qualifying Round
FA Trophy 3rd Qualifying Round
Southern League Cup 1st Round
Kent Senior Cup Semi Final

*** Player Stats to be added ***