Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1970/71 | 1971/72 | 1972/73

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 14th Aug Maidstone United(H) Southern League Cup (Group Stage) W0n 0-1
706 thumb-1
Thu 19th Aug Woodford Town(A) Southern League Cup (Group Stage) W0n 1-1
208 thumb-1
Sat 21st Aug Hastings United(A) Southern League Cup (Group Stage) W0n 0-2
769 thumb-1
Wed 25th Aug Ramsgate Athletic(H) Southern League Cup (Group Stage) W0n 2-2
329 thumb-1
Sat 28th Aug Bexley United(H) Southern League Cup (Group Stage) W0n 2-1
334 thumb-1
Wed 01st Sep Tonbridge(H) Southern League Cup (Group Stage) W0n 1-1
317 thumb-1
Sat 04th Sep Canterbury City(A) Southern League Cup (Group Stage) W0n 4-0
171 thumb-1
Sat 11th Sep Basingstoke Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 18th Sep Bexhill Town(H) FA Cup (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 2-0
539 thumb-1
Sat 25th Sep Andover(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Tue 28th Sep Ramsgate Athletic(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) --- --- -
Sat 02nd Oct Woodford Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 09th Oct Tonbridge(H) FA Cup (2nd Qualifying Round) W0n 3-1
740 thumb-1
Sat 16th Oct Salisbury(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 23rd Oct Dover(H) FA Cup (3rd Qualifying Round) W0n 0-2
1,853 thumb-1
Sat 30th Oct Ramsgate Athletic(H) FA Trophy (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 3-2
703 thumb-1
Mon 01st Nov Margate(A) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 0-1
442 thumb-1
Sat 06th Nov Metropolitan Police(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 13th Nov Guildford City(A) FA Trophy (2nd Qualifying Round) W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 20th Nov Waterlooville(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Wed 24th Nov Margate(H) Kent Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 2-4
133 -
Sat 27th Nov Tonbridge(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-3
--- -
Sat 04th Dec Ramsgate Athletic(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
424 thumb-1
Sat 11th Dec Crawley Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-4
--- thumb-1
Mon 27th Dec Canterbury City(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 01st Jan Canterbury City(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 08th Jan Andover(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 11th Jan Canterbury City(A) Kent Senior Cup (1st Round) W0n 0-2
168 thumb-1
Sat 15th Jan Trowbridge Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-2
424 thumb-1
Sat 22nd Jan Maidstone United(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 29th Jan Bexley United(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-5
--- thumb-1
Sat 05th Feb Metropolitan Police(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 19th Feb Salisbury(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 26th Feb Winchester City(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 04th Mar Hastings United(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 6-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 11th Mar Waterlooville(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- -
Sat 18th Mar Tonbridge(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
491 thumb-1
Mon 20th Mar Bexley United(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 4-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 25th Mar Ramsgate Athletic(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-2
1,200 thumb-1
Fri 31st Mar Hastings United(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- -
Sat 01st Apr Crawley Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 08th Apr Basingstoke Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 15th Apr Winchester City(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-1
--- -
Sat 22nd Apr Woodford Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Tue 25th Apr Maidstone United(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-5
--- -
Sat 29th Apr Trowbridge Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 5-3
189 thumb-1

League Table 1971/72
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Waterlooville 30 15 9 6 40 22 +18 39
2 Ramsgate Athletic 30 14 11 5 42 27 +15 39
3 Maidstone United 30 14 10 6 48 28 +20 38
4 Crawley Town 30 15 5 10 67 55 +12 35
5 Metropolitan Police 30 15 3 12 48 41 +7 33
6 Tonbridge 30 12 9 9 37 34 +3 33
7 Bexley United 30 14 4 12 52 46 +6 32
8 Basingstoke Town 30 14 4 12 37 36 +1 32
9 Andover 30 11 9 10 32 34 -2 31
10 Ashford Town 30 12 4 14 43 48 -5 28
11 Salisbury 30 10 7 13 45 44 +1 27
12 Winchester City 30 10 7 13 40 47 -7 27
13 Hastings United 30 10 7 13 28 42 -14 27
14 Trowbridge Town 30 8 7 15 41 49 -8 23
15 Canterbury City 30 7 8 15 39 56 -17 22
16 Woodford Town 30 4 6 20 22 52 -30 14

Season Summary 1971/72
Competition Summary
Southern League Division One South 10th (16)
FA Cup 3rd Qualifying Round
FA Trophy 2nd Qualifying Round
Southern League Cup Group Stage
Kent Senior Cup 1st Round

*** Player Stats to be added ***