Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1971/72 | 1972/73 | 1973/74

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 12th Aug Crawley Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-0
--- thumb-1
Wed 16th Aug Maidstone United(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 19th Aug Salisbury(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Wed 23rd Aug Canterbury City(H) Southern League Cup (1st Round 1st Leg) W0n 1-1
476 thumb-1
Sat 26th Aug Winchester City(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1
Tue 29th Aug Canterbury City(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round 2nd Leg) W0n 0-0
265 thumb-1
Sat 02nd Sep Minehead(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Mon 11th Sep Tonbridge(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 16th Sep Chatham Town(A) FA Cup (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 2-0
339 -
Sat 23rd Sep Dorchester Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 4-0
--- thumb-1
Tue 26th Sep Canterbury City(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round Replay) W0n 1-2
240 thumb-1
Sat 30th Sep Folkestone(H) FA Trophy (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 2-1
703 thumb-1
Sat 07th Oct Herne Bay(H) FA Cup (2nd Qualifying Round) W0n 6-0
603 thumb-1
Sat 14th Oct Canterbury City(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 21st Oct Dover(A) FA Cup (3rd Qualifying Round) W0n 2-1
1,276 -
Wed 25th Oct Wealdstone(H) Southern League Division One South A-A
--- thumb-1
Sat 28th Oct Hatfield Town(H) FA Trophy (2nd Qualifying Round) W0n 2-0
564 thumb-1
Sat 04th Nov Guildford City(H) FA Cup (4th Qualifying Round) W0n 3-4
1,009 thumb-1
Tue 07th Nov Bletchley Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-3
--- -
Sat 11th Nov Corby Town(A) FA Trophy (3rd Qualifying Round) W0n 1-0
458 thumb-1
Sat 18th Nov Bath City(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 25th Nov Bideford AFC(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Wed 29th Nov Dunstable Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 02nd Dec Bromsgrove Rovers(A) FA Trophy (1st Round) W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Wed 06th Dec Bromsgrove Rovers(H) FA Trophy (1st Round Replay) W0n 2-1
467 thumb-1
Sat 09th Dec Metropolitan Police(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 16th Dec Bognor Regis Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 23rd Dec Trowbridge Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 6-0
--- thumb-1
Tue 26th Dec Hastings United(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-3
--- -
Thu 28th Dec Ramsgate Athletic(H) Kent Senior Cup (1st Round) W0n 2-1
302 thumb-1
Sat 30th Dec Salisbury(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-0
--- thumb-1
Wed 03rd Jan Bexley United(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 5-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 06th Jan Dorchester Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-0
--- thumb-1
Tue 09th Jan Basingstoke Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 13th Jan Dover(H) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round) W0n 1-1
1,008 thumb-1
Wed 17th Jan Dover(A) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round Replay) W0n 1-3
822 thumb-1
Sat 20th Jan Worcester City(H) FA Trophy (2nd Round) W0n 1-0
726 thumb-1
Sat 27th Jan Wealdstone(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 03rd Feb Gravesend and Northfleet(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- -
Sat 10th Feb Bexley United(H) FA Trophy (3rd Round) W0n 0-0
986 thumb-1
Tue 13th Feb Bexley United(A) FA Trophy (3rd Round Replay) W0n 2-1
607 thumb-1
Sat 17th Feb Gravesend and Northfleet(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 4-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 24th Feb Andover(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-0
318 thumb-1
Wed 28th Feb Basingstoke Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 03rd Mar Dunstable Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Wed 07th Mar Hazelbrouck(H) Cross Channel Football League (Group Stage) --- --- thumb-1
Sat 10th Mar Bangor City(A) FA Trophy (Quarter Final) W0n 3-2
3,360 thumb-1
Wed 14th Mar Tonbridge(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 17th Mar Bexley United(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1
Wed 21st Mar Hastings United(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 24th Mar Bletchley Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Tue 27th Mar Maidstone United(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 31st Mar Scarborough(A) FA Trophy (Semi Final) W0n 0-1
2,829 thumb-1
Wed 04th Apr Wealdstone(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 5-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 07th Apr Bognor Regis Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Mon 09th Apr Andover(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 4-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 14th Apr Metropolitan Police(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-2
--- thumb-1
Tue 17th Apr Bideford AFC(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Fri 20th Apr Crawley Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 7-0
--- -
Sat 21st Apr Bath City(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 6-1
--- thumb-1
Mon 23rd Apr Winchester City(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-1
--- -
Fri 27th Apr Minehead(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 01st May Canterbury City(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1
Fri 04th May Trowbridge Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1

League Table 1972/73
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Maidstone United 42 25 12 5 90 38 +52 62
2 Tonbridge 42 26 7 9 70 44 +26 59
3 Ashford Town 42 24 7 11 90 40 +50 55
4 Bideford AFC 42 19 14 9 70 43 +27 52
5 Minehead 42 20 12 10 65 47 +18 52
6 Gravesend and Northfleet 42 22 7 13 81 55 +26 51
7 Bath City 42 18 11 13 56 54 +2 47
8 Wealdstone 42 16 12 14 81 61 +20 44
9 Bletchley Town 42 14 13 15 54 51 +3 41
10 Hastings United 42 14 13 15 53 53 0 41
11 Andover 42 15 11 16 62 70 -8 41
12 Canterbury City 42 14 12 16 51 59 -8 40
13 Basingstoke Town 42 14 12 16 48 57 -9 40
14 Crawley Town 42 14 11 17 59 76 -17 39
15 Metropolitan Police 42 15 8 19 82 75 +7 38
16 Bexley United 42 12 14 16 54 64 -10 38
17 Salisbury 42 14 10 18 49 60 -11 38
18 Trowbridge Town 42 15 8 19 65 77 -12 38
19 Bognor Regis Town 42 12 9 21 41 66 -25 33
20 Dorchester Town 42 10 12 20 47 73 -26 32
21 Winchester City 42 7 11 24 41 79 -38 25
22 Dunstable Town 42 4 10 28 38 105 -67 18

Season Summary 1972/73
Competition Summary
Southern League Division One South 3rd (22)
FA Cup 4th Qualifying Round
FA Trophy Semi-Final
Southern League Cup 1st Round
Kent Senior Cup 2nd Round

*** Player Stats to be added ***