Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1972/73 | 1973/74 | 1974/75

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 28th Jul Dover(A) Friendly W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 11th Aug Trowbridge Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-3
--- -
Sat 18th Aug Basingstoke Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-3
--- thumb-1
Tue 21st Aug Bexley United(H) Southern League Cup (1st Round 1st Leg) W0n 4-1
425 thumb-1
Sat 25th Aug Salisbury(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-2
--- -
Tue 28th Aug Bexley United(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round 1st Leg) W0n 1-1
325 -
Sat 01st Sep Minehead(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 08th Sep Gravesend and Northfleet(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 15th Sep Eastbourne United(H) FA Cup (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 4-0
579 thumb-1
Sat 22nd Sep Metropolitan Police(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 25th Sep Canterbury City(H) Kent Messenger Trophy (Group Stage) W0n 1-1
490 -
Sat 29th Sep Trowbridge Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 02nd Oct Margate(A) Kent Messenger Trophy (Group Stage) W0n 4-2
373 -
Sat 06th Oct Maidstone United(A) FA Cup (2nd Qualifying Round) W0n 1-1
1,512 thumb-1
Tue 09th Oct Guildford City(H) Southern League Cup (2nd Round) W0n 1-0
362 thumb-1
Tue 09th Oct Maidstone United(H) FA Cup (2nd Qualifying Round Replay) W0n 0-2
1,668 thumb-1
Sat 13th Oct Hastings United(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 16th Oct Dover(A) Kent Messenger Trophy (Group Stage) W0n 1-3
128 -
Sat 20th Oct Dorchester Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 27th Oct Poole Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Tue 30th Oct Ramsgate Athletic(H) Kent Messenger Trophy (Group Stage) W0n 1-0
348 -
Sat 03rd Nov Bath City(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 13th Nov Folkestone(A) Kent Messenger Trophy (Group Stage) W0n 2-2
485 -
Sat 17th Nov Bognor Regis Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-0
--- -
Sat 24th Nov Crawley Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 01st Dec Waterlooville(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-0
--- -
Sat 08th Dec Swanley Town(H) Kent Senior Cup (1st Round) W0n 4-0
263 thumb-1
Sat 15th Dec Hastings United(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 22nd Dec Basingstoke Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-3
--- thumb-1
Wed 26th Dec Ramsgate Athletic(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 29th Dec Canterbury City(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 01st Jan Wealdstone(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-4
1,175 thumb-1
Sat 05th Jan Waterlooville(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Fri 11th Jan Dartford(H) Southern League Cup (3rd Round) W0n 0-3
662 thumb-1
Sat 12th Jan Dartford(H) FA Trophy (1st Round) W0n 0-3
--- thumb-1
Fri 18th Jan Maidstone United(A) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round) W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 26th Jan Andover(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 02nd Feb Bexley United(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 09th Feb Salisbury(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 23rd Feb Gravesend and Northfleet(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 02nd Mar Bognor Regis Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 09th Mar Poole Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 16th Mar Bath City(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 23rd Mar Bideford AFC(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 30th Mar Dorchester Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- -
Tue 02nd Apr Andover(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 06th Apr Crawley Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-0
--- -
Fri 12th Apr Wealdstone(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Mon 15th Apr Ramsgate Athletic(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 20th Apr Bexley United(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Sun 21st Apr Canterbury City(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 27th Apr Bideford AFC(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Tue 30th Apr Minehead(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-0
--- -
Fri 03rd May Metropolitan Police(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1

Southern League Division One South

League Table 1973/74
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Wealdstone 38 26 7 5 75 35 +40 59
2 Bath City 38 20 8 10 55 34 +21 48
3 Waterlooville 38 16 15 7 55 38 +17 47
4 Minehead 38 16 15 7 69 52 +17 47
5 Bideford AFC 38 17 12 9 61 51 +10 46
6 Poole Town 38 18 9 11 67 47 +20 45
7 Bexley United 38 18 7 13 50 42 +8 43
8 Hastings United 38 16 9 13 45 36 +9 41
9 Basingstoke Town 38 14 11 13 55 44 +11 39
10 Gravesend and Northfleet 38 13 13 12 58 52 +6 39
11 Bognor Regis Town 38 13 12 13 48 54 -6 38
12 Ashford Town 38 14 8 16 41 42 -1 36
13 Ramsgate 38 13 9 16 46 44 +2 35
14 Dorchester Town 38 10 13 15 40 48 -8 33
15 Canterbury City 38 9 12 17 37 46 -9 30
16 Trowbridge Town 38 8 14 16 44 61 -17 30
17 Salisbury 38 10 9 19 40 60 -20 29
18 Metropolitan Police 38 9 11 18 37 61 -24 29
19 Andover 38 11 3 24 38 70 -32 25
20 Crawley Town 38 6 9 23 35 79 -44 21


Kent Floodlight Competition - Eastern Section

League Table 1973/74
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Canterbury City 5 3 2 0 11 5 +6 8
2 Ashford Town 5 2 2 1 9 8 +1 6
3 Margate 5 2 2 1 7 7 0 6
4 Canterbury City 5 2 1 2 6 7 -1 5
5 Folkestone 5 1 2 2 7 8 -1 4
6 Ramsgate 5 0 1 4 3 8 -5 1


Season Summary 1973/74
Competition Summary
Southern League Division One South 12th (20)
FA Cup 2nd Qualifying Round
FA Trophy 1st Round
Southern League Cup 3rd Round
Kent Senior Cup 2nd Round
Kent Messenger Trophy Group Stage

*** Player Stats to be added ***