Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1977/78 | 1978/79 | 1979/80

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 19th Aug Gravesend and Northfleet(H) Southern League Cup (1st Round 1st Leg) W0n 0-2
260 thumb-1
Tue 22nd Aug Gravesend and Northfleet(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round 2nd Leg) W0n 1-3
679 thumb-1
Sat 26th Aug Dover(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 29th Aug Hounslow(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 02nd Sep Eastbourne United(A) FA Cup (Preliminary Round) W0n 0-1
200 -
Sat 09th Sep Bromley(H) FA Trophy (Preliminary Round) W0n 3-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 16th Sep Minehead(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 23rd Sep Aylesbury United(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1
Mon 25th Sep Tonbridge AFC(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
301 thumb-1
Sat 30th Sep Chelmsford City(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-4
--- thumb-1
Sat 07th Oct Gosport Borough(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 14th Oct Bognor Regis Town(A) FA Trophy (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 1-3
201 thumb-1
Sat 21st Oct Gosport Borough(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-3
--- -
Sat 28th Oct Poole Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 04th Nov Andover(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 11th Nov Addlestone(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-1
--- thumb-1
Mon 13th Nov Margate(A) Kent Senior Cup (1st Round) W0n 2-0
349 thumb-1
Sat 18th Nov Bognor Regis Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 25th Nov Basingstoke Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 02nd Dec Waterlooville(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-0
99 thumb-1
Sat 09th Dec Salisbury(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-3
--- -
Sat 16th Dec Taunton Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 23rd Dec Crawley Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- -
Tue 26th Dec Canterbury City(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 30th Dec Trowbridge Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Wed 17th Jan Folkestone and Shepway(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-4
--- thumb-1
Sat 20th Jan Tonbridge AFC(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
216 thumb-1
Sat 03rd Feb Aylesbury United(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 3-1
355 thumb-1
Sat 10th Feb Chelmsford City(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 24th Feb Crawley Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Tue 27th Feb Dunstable(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 03rd Mar Waterlooville(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Wed 07th Mar Dover(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-2
482 thumb-1
Sat 10th Mar Poole Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 17th Mar Minehead(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-2
--- -
Tue 20th Mar Hounslow(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 24th Mar Addlestone(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Tue 27th Mar Bognor Regis Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- -
Sat 31st Mar Basingstoke Town(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 07th Apr Andover(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 10th Apr Dunstable(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- -
Sat 14th Apr Canterbury City(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Mon 16th Apr Folkestone and Shepway(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 21st Apr Trowbridge Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 28th Apr Salisbury(H) Southern League Division One South W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 05th May Taunton Town(A) Southern League Division One South W0n 0-1
--- -

League Table 1978/79
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Dover 40 28 9 3 88 20 +68 65
2 Folkestone and Shepway 40 22 6 12 84 50 +34 50
3 Gosport Borough 40 19 11 10 62 47 +15 49
4 Chelmsford City 40 20 7 13 65 61 +4 47
5 Minehead 40 16 13 11 58 39 +19 45
6 Poole Town 40 15 15 10 48 44 +4 45
7 Hounslow 40 16 12 12 56 45 +11 44
8 Waterlooville 40 17 10 13 52 43 +9 44
9 Trowbridge Town 40 15 12 13 65 61 +4 42
10 Taunton Town 40 16 9 15 53 51 +2 41
11 Aylesbury United 40 16 9 15 54 52 +2 41
12 Bognor Regis Town 40 17 7 16 58 58 0 41
13 Dunstable 40 18 4 18 57 55 +2 40
14 Tonbridge AFC 40 15 10 15 43 47 -4 40
15 Salisbury 40 13 10 17 47 51 -4 36
16 Basingstoke Town 40 12 11 17 49 62 -13 35
17 Addlestone 40 12 9 19 56 64 -8 33
18 Andover 40 12 6 22 47 69 -22 30
19 Ashford Town 40 10 10 20 28 53 -25 30
20 Crawley Town 40 9 9 22 44 75 -31 27
21 Canterbury City 40 6 3 31 31 98 -67 15

Season Summary 1978/79
Competition Summary
Southern League Division One South 19th (21)
FA Cup Preliminary Round
FA Trophy 1st Qualifying Round
Southern League Cup 1st Round
Kent Senior Cup 1st Round

*** Player Stats to be added ***