Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1984/85 | 1985/86 | 1986/87
List Grid

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Tue 06th Aug Deal Town(A) Friendly W0n 2-0
--- -
Sat 10th Aug Ringmer(A) Friendly W0n 2-1
--- -
Tue 13th Aug Hythe Town(A) Friendly W0n 1-1
--- -
Sat 24th Aug Faversham Town(H) FA Cup (Preliminary Round) W0n 5-1
164 thumb-1
Mon 26th Aug Tonbridge AFC(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 2-2
230 thumb-1
Sat 31st Aug Dorchester Town(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Tue 03rd Sep Dover Athletic(H) Southern League Cup (Group Stage) W0n 2-1
285 thumb-1
Sat 07th Sep Hythe Town(A) FA Cup (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 0-1
300 -
Sat 14th Sep Andover(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 2-1
201 thumb-1
Tue 17th Sep Hastings Town(A) Southern League Cup (Group Stage) W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 21st Sep Poole Town(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 24th Sep Folkestone(H) Southern League Cup (Group Stage) W0n 1-2
276 thumb-1
Sat 28th Sep Waterlooville(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-1
182 thumb-1
Tue 01st Oct Hastings Town(H) Southern League Cup (Group Stage) W0n 1-2
265 thumb-1
Sat 05th Oct Bromley(H) FA Trophy (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 0-0
294 thumb-1
Tue 08th Oct Bromley(A) FA Trophy (1st Qualifying Round Replay) W0n 0-3
262 thumb-1
Sat 12th Oct Sheppey United(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-1
165 thumb-1
Tue 15th Oct Dover Athletic(A) Southern League Cup (Group Stage) W0n 3-4
166 thumb-1
Sat 19th Oct Salisbury(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Tue 22nd Oct Folkestone(A) Southern League Cup (Group Stage) W0n 0-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 26th Oct Chatham Town(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 3-2
196 thumb-1
Sat 02nd Nov Ruislip(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 3-4
--- thumb-1
Sat 09th Nov Trowbridge Town(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 0-1
158 thumb-1
Tue 12th Nov Dover Athletic(A) Kent Senior Cup (1st Round) W0n 0-1
173 thumb-1
Sat 16th Nov Burnham and Hillingdon(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 2-0
169 thumb-1
Sat 23rd Nov Dunstable(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 2-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 30th Nov Cambridge City(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-1
180 thumb-1
Sat 07th Dec Canterbury City(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-1
211 thumb-1
Tue 10th Dec Dunstable(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 14th Dec Cambridge City(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-1
261 thumb-1
Wed 01st Jan Corinthian(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 0-4
--- thumb-1
Sat 04th Jan Canterbury City(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 11th Jan Burnham and Hillingdon(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 3-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 18th Jan Poole Town(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-0
194 thumb-1
Sat 01st Feb Chatham Town(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 01st Mar Waterlooville(A) Southern League Southern Division p-p
--- thumb-1
Sat 08th Mar Ruislip(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-2
157 thumb-1
Tue 11th Mar Woodford Town(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 15th Mar Thanet United(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 3-2
162 thumb-1
Tue 18th Mar Woodford Town(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 22nd Mar Andover(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1
Fri 28th Mar Dover Athletic(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-6
350 thumb-1
Sat 29th Mar Dorchester Town(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 3-0
169 thumb-1
Mon 31st Mar Tonbridge AFC(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-4
--- -
Sat 05th Apr Hastings Town(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sun 06th Apr Waterlooville(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 08th Apr Erith and Belvedere(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 2-1
91 thumb-1
Sat 12th Apr Corinthian(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 15th Apr Hastings Town(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Thu 17th Apr Dover Athletic(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-2
250 thumb-1
Sat 19th Apr Thanet United(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-0
131 thumb-1
Tue 22nd Apr Sheppey United(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 0-3
--- -
Sat 26th Apr Trowbridge Town(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Tue 29th Apr Salisbury(H) Southern League Southern Division W0n 2-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 03rd May Erith and Belvedere(A) Southern League Southern Division W0n 0-2
--- thumb-1


Southern League Southern Division

League Table 1985/86
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Cambridge City 40 23 11 6 87 41 +46 80
2 Salisbury 40 24 8 8 84 51 +33 80
3 Hastings Town 40 23 9 8 83 51 +32 78
4 Dover Athletic 40 23 6 11 89 53 +36 75
5 Corinthian 40 20 9 11 78 45 +33 69
6 Tonbridge AFC 40 17 13 10 65 51 +14 64
7 Dunstable 40 17 11 12 70 61 +9 62
8 Ruislip 40 17 6 17 67 66 +1 57
9 Erith and Belvedere 40 14 12 14 35 40 -5 54
10 Waterlooville 40 16 6 18 52 58 -6 54
11 Burnham and Hillingdon 40 16 6 18 44 59 -15 54
12 Canterbury City 40 13 13 14 58 58 0 52
13 Trowbridge Town 40 13 13 14 57 63 -6 52
14 Sheppey United 40 14 10 16 43 53 -10 52
15 Thanet United 40 13 7 20 58 63 -5 46
16 Woodford Town 40 12 10 18 49 62 -13 46
17 Poole Town 40 12 7 21 55 63 -8 43
18 Ashford Town 40 10 12 18 45 65 -20 42
19 Chatham Town 40 8 15 17 53 70 -17 39
20 Andover 40 10 8 22 52 92 -40 38
21 Dorchester Town 40 5 8 27 35 94 -59 23


Southern League Cup, Round One - Group ?

League Table 1985/86
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Folkestone 6 5 0 1 19 6 +13 15
2 Hastings Town 6 4 0 2 12 11 +1 12
3 Dover Athletic 6 2 0 4 10 18 -8 6
4 Ashford Town 6 1 0 5 8 14 -6 3


Season Summary 1985/86
Competition Summary
Southern League Southern Division 18th (21)
FA Cup 1st Qualifying Round
FA Trophy 1st Qualifying Round
Southern League Cup Group Stage
Kent Senior Cup 1st Round

Player Stats 1985/86
No Missing matches
Player League Apps League Goals Cup Apps Cup Goals Total Apps Yellow Card - Red Card Total Goals
Tony MacDonald 40 (0) 1 11 (0) 1 51 (0) 0 - 0 2
Peter McRobert 40 (0) 1 11 (0) 0 51 (0) 0 - 0 1
Keith Hepple 39 (0) 0 10 (0) 0 49 (0) 0 - 0 0
Dave Arter 37 (2) 17 11 (0) 9 48 (2) 0 - 0 26
David Lee 40 (0) 4 8 (0) 0 48 (0) 0 - 0 4
John Barrow 35 (0) 2 11 (0) 0 46 (0) 0 - 0 2
Jon Sillett 36 (0) 0 6 (0) 0 42 (0) 0 - 0 0
John Barton 34 (0) 2 2 (0) 0 36 (0) 0 - 0 2
Paul Giles 20 (3) 4 11 (0) 1 31 (3) 0 - 0 5
missing player details 14 (0) 0 12 (0) 0 26 (0) 0 - 0 0
Kevin Rayner 18 (0) 1 6 (0) 0 24 (0) 0 - 0 1
Darren Hare 21 (0) 7 0 (0) 0 21 (0) 0 - 0 7
Dave Ball 16 (2) 1 4 (0) 1 20 (2) 0 - 0 2
John Young 17 (0) 2 1 (0) 0 18 (0) 0 - 0 2
Neil Smith 11 (6) 0 0 (1) 0 11 (7) 0 - 0 0
Nicky Sparks 7 (7) 1 4 (0) 0 11 (7) 0 - 0 1
Nicky Hall 5 (0) 1 5 (1) 1 10 (1) 0 - 0 2
Dave MacDonald 2 (3) 0 3 (4) 0 5 (7) 0 - 0 0
Gary Elliott 4 (3) 0 0 (0) 0 4 (3) 0 - 0 0
Peter Mills 1 (0) 0 3 (0) 0 4 (0) 0 - 0 0
Chris Meanley 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 - 0 0
Tony Smith 1 (0) 0 0 (2) 0 1 (2) 0 - 0 0
Alan Barrow 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 - 0 0
Keith Robinson 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 - 0 0
Own Goal --- 1 --- 0 --- --- 1