Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1987/88 | 1988/89 | 1989/90

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 20th Aug Bromsgrove Rovers(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Tue 23rd Aug Fareham Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 27th Aug Bath City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-1
158 thumb-1
Mon 29th Aug Dorchester Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 03rd Sep Burton Albion(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-0
863 thumb-1
Tue 06th Sep Dover Athletic(A) Premier Inter League Cup (1st Round) W0n 0-1
693 thumb-1
Sat 10th Sep Leicester United(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
--- thumb-1
Sun 11th Sep Wellingborough Town(H) Southern League Cup (1st Round 1st Leg) W0n 0-1
125 thumb-1
Sat 17th Sep Dorking(H) FA Cup (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 2-1
147 thumb-1
Sat 24th Sep Burnham(H) FA Trophy (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 2-0
141 thumb-1
Sun 25th Sep Wellingborough Town(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round 1st Leg) W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 01st Oct Hastings Town(H) FA Cup (2nd Qualifying Round) W0n 2-1
409 thumb-1
Sat 15th Oct Dover Athletic(A) FA Cup (3rd Qualifying Round) W0n 0-3
1,055 thumb-1
Sat 22nd Oct Dulwich Hamlet(H) FA Trophy (2nd Qualifying Round) W0n 2-1
212 thumb-1
Tue 25th Oct Waterlooville(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 29th Oct Alvechurch(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 05th Nov Bedworth United(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 4-1
120 thumb-1
Tue 08th Nov Welling United(A) Kent Senior Cup (1st Round) W0n 2-4
--- thumb-1
Sat 12th Nov Cambridge City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
293 thumb-1
Sat 19th Nov Crawley Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-2
408 thumb-1
Sat 26th Nov Burton Albion(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-3
225 thumb-1
Sat 03rd Dec Slough Town(H) FA Trophy (3rd Qualifying Round) W0n 0-3
261 thumb-1
Sat 10th Dec Corby Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-1
--- thumb-1
Wed 14th Dec Fareham Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 17th Dec VS Rugby(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-2
172 -
Mon 26th Dec Dover Athletic(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 31st Dec Moor Green(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
--- thumb-1
Mon 02nd Jan Wealdstone(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-2
243 thumb-1
Sat 07th Jan Worcester City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
210 thumb-1
Tue 10th Jan Crawley Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
194 thumb-1
Sat 14th Jan VS Rugby(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
551 thumb-1
Sat 21st Jan Leicester United(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-4
--- thumb-1
Sat 28th Jan Bromsgrove Rovers(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 07th Feb Redditch United(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 5-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 11th Feb Corby Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
212 thumb-1
Tue 21st Feb Redditch United(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 28th Feb Merthyr Tydfil(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-3
--- thumb-1
Sat 04th Mar Worcester City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-6
--- thumb-1
Sat 11th Mar Gosport Borough(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 18th Mar Dartford(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Tue 21st Mar Gosport Borough(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-5
--- thumb-1
Sat 25th Mar Wealdstone(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-4
430 thumb-1
Mon 27th Mar Dover Athletic(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 01st Apr Cambridge City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-2
302 thumb-1
Sat 08th Apr Bath City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-4
475 thumb-1
Tue 11th Apr Dartford(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 15th Apr Merthyr Tydfil(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-6
--- thumb-1
Sat 22nd Apr Waterlooville(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 25th Apr Moor Green(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 29th Apr Bedworth United(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-0
--- thumb-1
Mon 01st May Dorchester Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 06th May Alvechurch(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1

League Table 1988/89
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Merthyr Tydfil 42 26 7 9 104 58 +46 85
2 Dartford 42 25 7 10 79 33 +46 82
3 VS Rugby 42 24 7 11 64 43 +21 79
4 Worcester City 42 20 13 9 72 49 +23 73
5 Cambridge City 42 20 10 12 72 51 +21 70
6 Dover Athletic 42 19 12 11 65 47 +18 69
7 Gosport Borough 42 18 12 12 73 57 +16 66
8 Burton Albion 42 18 10 14 79 68 +11 64
9 Bath City 42 15 13 14 66 51 +15 58
10 Bromsgrove Rovers 42 14 16 12 68 56 +12 58
11 Wealdstone 42 16 10 16 60 53 +7 58
12 Crawley Town 42 14 16 12 61 56 +5 58
13 Dorchester Town 42 14 16 12 56 61 -5 58
14 Alvechurch 42 16 8 18 56 59 -3 56
15 Moor Green 42 14 13 15 58 70 -12 55
16 Corby Town 42 14 11 17 55 59 -4 53
17 Waterlooville 42 13 13 16 61 63 -2 52
18 Ashford Town 42 13 13 16 59 76 -17 52
19 Fareham Town 42 15 6 21 43 68 -25 51
20 Leicester United 42 6 11 25 46 84 -38 29
21 Redditch United 42 5 7 30 36 105 -69 22
22 Bedworth United 42 4 7 31 36 102 -66 19

Season Summary 1988/89
Competition Summary
Southern League Premier Division 18th (22)
FA Cup 3rd Qualifying Round
FA Trophy 3rd Qualifying Round
Southern League Cup 1st Round
Premier Inter League Cup Qualifying Round
Kent Senior Cup 1st Round

Player Stats 1988/89
Player League Apps League Goals Cup Apps Cup Goals Total Apps Total Goals
Peter Ambler 2 (2) 0 0 (0) 0 2 (2) 0
Dave Arter 41 (0) 20 10 (0) 5 51 (0) 25
Paul Bagley 40 (0) 0 10 (0) 0 50 (0) 0
John Barton 3 (3) 0 4 (3) 0 7 (6) 0
Dave Brooks 12 (9) 0 0 (0) 0 12 (9) 0
Neil Brown 34 (1) 2 9 (1) 0 43 (2) 2
Mick Cadmore 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Paul Carlton 42 (0) 13 9 (0) 3 51 (0) 16
Peter Carman 40 (1) 0 10 (0) 0 50 (1) 0
Simon Clark 27 (4) 1 2 (6) 1 29 (10) 2
Gary Clark 1 (5) 1 0 (0) 0 1 (5) 1
Matt Gubbins 0 (3) 0 0 (0) 0 0 (3) 0
Peter Jarvis 30 (7) 2 8 (1) 1 38 (8) 3
David Lee 41 (0) 12 9 (0) 0 50 (0) 12
Peter McRobert 32 (9) 0 9 (0) 0 41 (9) 0
John Mudge 11 (16) 0 1 (1) 0 12 (17) 0
Mark Munday 3 (10) 0 0 (0) 0 3 (10) 0
Jeff Ross 36 (1) 6 10 (0) 1 46 (1) 7
Tony Rudd 5 (6) 0 3 (6) 0 8 (12) 0
Warren Scott 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Bob Shinners 17 (3) 0 5 (1) 0 22 (4) 0
Tom Sloan 42 (0) 0 10 (0) 0 52 (0) 0
Matt Waters 1 (4) 0 0 (1) 0 1 (5) 0