Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1995/96 | 1996/97 | 1997/98

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sun 14th Jul Hythe Town(A) Friendly W0n 4-1
300 -
Sat 20th Jul Ramsgate Athletic(A) Friendly W0n 1-1
--- thumb-1
Mon 22nd Jul Gillingham(H) Testimonial W0n 1-0
548 -
Thu 25th Jul Folkestone(H) Eastern Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 3-1
--- thumb-1
Tue 30th Jul Wimbledon(H) Friendly W0n 2-2
517 thumb-1
Sun 04th Aug Union Sportive Gravelinoise(H) Friendly W0n 2-2
142 thumb-1
Wed 07th Aug Folkestone(A) Eastern Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 2-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 10th Aug Sutton United(H) Friendly W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Tue 13th Aug Hythe Town(H) Eastern Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 3-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 17th Aug Gloucester City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
648 thumb-1
Tue 20th Aug Hastings Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
563 thumb-1
Sat 24th Aug Newport County(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
643 thumb-1
Mon 26th Aug Gravesend and Northfleet(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-1
804 thumb-1
Wed 28th Aug Hythe Town(A) Eastern Floodlight Cup (Group Stage) W0n 4-0
--- -
Sat 31st Aug Burton Albion(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
775 thumb-1
Tue 03rd Sep Sudbury Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
585 thumb-1
Sat 07th Sep Halesowen Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-3
701 thumb-1
Sat 14th Sep Nuneaton Borough(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-0
659 thumb-1
Sat 21st Sep Atherstone United(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
235 thumb-1
Tue 24th Sep Hastings Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-3
707 thumb-1
Thu 03rd Oct Canterbury City(A) Frank Norris Trophy (Final) W0n 4-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 05th Oct Merthyr Tydfil(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
660 thumb-1
Tue 08th Oct Tonbridge Angels(H) Southern League Cup (1st Round 1st Leg) W0n 3-2
401 thumb-1
Sat 12th Oct Salisbury City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-0
421 thumb-1
Tue 15th Oct Gravesend and Northfleet(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
682 thumb-1
Sat 19th Oct Hitchin Town(H) FA Trophy (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 4-1
544 thumb-1
Sat 26th Oct Kingstonian(H) FA Cup (4th Qualifying Round) W0n 3-1
1,089 thumb-1
Tue 29th Oct Tonbridge Angels(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round 2nd Leg) W0n 0-3
365 thumb-1
Sat 02nd Nov Cheltenham Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-6
854 thumb-1
Sat 09th Nov Bishops Stortford(H) FA Trophy (2nd Qualifying Round) W0n 6-1
572 thumb-1
Sat 16th Nov Dagenham and Redbridge(H) FA Cup (1st Round) W0n 2-2
1,813 thumb-1
Tue 19th Nov Sudbury Town(A) Southern League Premier Division p-p
--- thumb-1
Sat 23rd Nov Burton Albion(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-3
596 thumb-1
Mon 25th Nov Dagenham and Redbridge(A) FA Cup (1st Round Replay) W0n 1-1p
2,424 thumb-1
Sat 30th Nov Weymouth(A) FA Trophy (3rd Qualifying Round) W0n 0-2
849 thumb-1
Sat 07th Dec Watford(A) FA Cup (2nd Round) W0n 0-5
7,590 thumb-1
Mon 09th Dec Dover Athletic(H) Testimonial W0n 0-1
--- thumb-1
Sat 14th Dec Dorchester Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-1
407 thumb-1
Sat 21st Dec Chelmsford City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
802 thumb-1
Thu 26th Dec Sittingbourne(H) Southern League Premier Division p-p
--- thumb-1
Sat 18th Jan Kings Lynn(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-2
856 thumb-1
Sat 25th Jan Chelmsford City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-0
688 thumb-1
Tue 28th Jan Fisher Athletic(A) Kent Senior Cup (2nd Round) W0n 0-1
130 thumb-1
Sat 01st Feb Gresley Rovers(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
709 thumb-1
Tue 04th Feb Crawley Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-2
419 thumb-1
Sat 08th Feb Merthyr Tydfil(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
645 thumb-1
Sat 15th Feb Gresley Rovers(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-3
615 thumb-1
Sat 22nd Feb Nuneaton Borough(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
903 thumb-1
Tue 25th Feb Sittingbourne(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
552 thumb-1
Sat 01st Mar Worcester City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-0
462 thumb-1
Sat 08th Mar Atherstone United(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
461 thumb-1
Wed 12th Mar Newport County(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
504 thumb-1
Sat 15th Mar Halesowen Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
442 thumb-1
Tue 18th Mar Gloucester City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-6
556 thumb-1
Sat 22nd Mar Baldock Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
210 thumb-1
Tue 25th Mar Salisbury City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
456 thumb-1
Sat 29th Mar Crawley Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-3
567 thumb-1
Mon 31st Mar Sittingbourne(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-4
1,025 thumb-1
Sat 05th Apr Cambridge City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
521 thumb-1
Tue 08th Apr Sudbury Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
215 thumb-1
Sat 12th Apr Worcester City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-0
644 thumb-1
Tue 15th Apr Baldock Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
566 thumb-1
Sat 19th Apr Cheltenham Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
574 thumb-1
Tue 22nd Apr Cambridge City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-4
248 thumb-1
Sat 26th Apr Kings Lynn(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 4-0
538 thumb-1
Mon 28th Apr Braintree Town(H) Eastern Floodlight Cup (Quarter Final) W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sat 03rd May Dorchester Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-0
806 thumb-1

League Table 1996/97
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Gresley Rovers 42 25 10 7 75 40 +35 85
2 Cheltenham Town 42 21 11 10 76 44 +32 74
3 Gloucester City 42 21 10 11 81 56 +25 73
4 Halesowen Town 42 21 10 11 77 54 +23 73
5 Kings Lynn 42 20 8 14 65 61 +4 68
6 Burton Albion 42 18 12 12 70 53 +17 66
7 Nuneaton Borough 42 19 9 14 61 52 +9 66
8 Sittingbourne 42 19 7 16 76 65 +11 64
9 Merthyr Tydfil 42 17 9 16 69 61 +8 60
10 Worcester City 42 15 14 13 52 50 +2 59
11 Atherstone United 42 15 13 14 46 47 -1 58
12 Salisbury City 42 15 13 14 57 66 -9 58
13 Sudbury Town 42 16 7 19 72 72 0 55
14 Gravesend and Northfleet 42 16 7 19 63 73 -10 55
15 Dorchester Town 42 14 9 19 62 66 -4 51
16 Hastings Town 42 12 15 15 49 60 -11 51
17 Crawley Town 42 13 8 21 49 67 -18 47
18 Cambridge City 42 11 13 18 57 65 -8 46
19 Ashford Town 42 9 18 15 53 79 -26 45
20 Baldock Town 42 11 8 23 52 90 -38 41
21 Newport AFC 42 9 13 20 40 60 -20 40
22 Chelmsford City 42 6 14 22 49 70 -21 32

Season Summary 1996/97
Competition Summary
Southern League Premier Division 19th (22) - Relegation Spot but Reprieved
FA Cup 2nd Round Proper
FA Trophy 3rd Qualifying Round
Southern League Cup 1st Round
Kent Senior Cup 2nd Round
Eastern Floodlight Cup Quarter Final

Player Stats 1996/97
Player League Apps League Goals Cup Apps Cup Goals Total Apps Total Goals
Andy Allon 28 (3) 2 9 (0) 0 37 (3) 2
Rob Beazleigh 2 (3) 0 0 (0) 0 2 (3) 0
Matt Carruthers 13 (4) 1 4 (3) 4 17 (7) 5
Paul Chambers 18 (3) 3 3 (5) 0 21 (8) 3
Kevin Clifford 0 (1) 0 0 (0) 0 0 (1) 0
Nicky Dent 22 (1) 11 9 (0) 6 31 (1) 17
Nigel Donn 39 (1) 0 7 (1) 0 46 (2) 0
Darren Keown 4 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 4 (0) 0
Steve Lawrence 7 (0) 2 0 (0) 0 7 (0) 2
? Lillis 3 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 3 (0) 0
Peter Magri 0 (1) 0 0 (0) 0 0 (1) 0
Peter McRobert 0 (1) 0 0 (0) 0 0 (1) 0
Andy Morris 15 (1) 2 10 (0) 0 25 (1) 2
Maurice Munden 40 (0) 0 9 (0) 0 49 (0) 0
Paul O Brien 28 (7) 1 8 (1) 0 36 (8) 1
Aaron O Leary 5 (3) 0 0 (3) 0 5 (6) 0
Kieran O Shaughnessy 1 (2) 1 1 (0) 0 2 (2) 1
Tom Parks 7 (8) 2 1 (2) 1 8 (10) 3
Andy Pearson 34 (0) 3 1 (0) 0 35 (0) 3
Unknown Player 1 (0) 0 1 (0) 0 2 (0) 0
Tony Reynolds 0 (1) 0 0 (1) 0 0 (2) 0
Jeff Ross 32 (6) 5 8 (0) 0 40 (6) 5
Dave Scott 20 (2) 0 1 (0) 0 21 (2) 0
? Sowerby 3 (0) 0 2 (0) 0 5 (0) 0
Mark Stanton 13 (4) 2 0 (0) 0 13 (4) 2
Tommy Warrilow 25 (3) 4 8 (0) 3 33 (3) 7
Jason Wheeler 28 (3) 0 9 (0) 0 37 (3) 0
Stuart White 26 (2) 2 9 (0) 3 35 (2) 5
Carlton Wynter 37 (0) 6 10 (0) 2 47 (0) 8