Nuts and Bolts Archive

Choose a season to view Ashford Town/United's matches



1996/97 | 1997/98 | 1998/99

Date Opponents Competition Result Attendance Programme
Sat 19th Jul Bromley(H) Friendly W0n 1-3
--- thumb-1
Thu 31st Jul West Ham United(H) Friendly W0n 2-4
652 thumb-1
Tue 05th Aug Canterbury City(H) Frank Norris Trophy (Final) W0n 3-0
--- thumb-1
Sat 09th Aug Dover Athletic(H) Friendly W0n 1-5
--- thumb-1
Sat 16th Aug Halesowen Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
645 thumb-1
Tue 19th Aug St Leonards Stamcroft(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-0
563 thumb-1
Sat 23rd Aug Worcester City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-2
499 thumb-1
Mon 25th Aug Sittingbourne(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-3
678 thumb-1
Sat 30th Aug Burton Albion(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-3
441 thumb-1
Tue 02nd Sep Hastings Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-4
683 thumb-1
Fri 05th Sep Forest Green Rovers(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
449 thumb-1
Tue 16th Sep Crawley Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
382 thumb-1
Sat 20th Sep Nuneaton Borough(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-1
378 thumb-1
Sat 04th Oct Dorchester Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-4
443 thumb-1
Tue 07th Oct Chelmsford City(H) Southern League Cup (1st Round 1st Leg) W0n 2-1
254 thumb-1
Sat 11th Oct Tamworth(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-4
519 thumb-1
Tue 14th Oct Salisbury City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
339 thumb-1
Sat 18th Oct VS Rugby(H) FA Trophy (1st Qualifying Round) W0n 2-1
397 thumb-1
Sat 25th Oct Heybridge Swifts(A) FA Cup (4th Qualifying Round) W0n 2-5
535 thumb-1
Mon 27th Oct Chelmsford City(A) Southern League Cup (1st Round 2nd Leg) W0n 1-4
302 thumb-1
Sat 01st Nov Gresley Rovers(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-0
397 thumb-1
Sat 08th Nov Raunds Town(H) FA Trophy (2nd Qualifying Round) W0n 1-2
434 thumb-1
Sat 15th Nov Dorchester Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-5
575 thumb-1
Sat 22nd Nov Merthyr Tydfil(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
715 thumb-1
Tue 25th Nov Dartford(H) Kent Senior Cup (1st Round) W0n 0-1
265 thumb-1
Sat 06th Dec Salisbury City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-0
315 thumb-1
Sat 13th Dec Gresley Rovers(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-2
565 thumb-1
Fri 26th Dec St Leonards Stamcroft(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-4
507 thumb-1
Sat 27th Dec Rothwell Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
420 thumb-1
Sat 03rd Jan Bath City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
619 thumb-1
Sat 10th Jan Forest Green Rovers(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
389 thumb-1
Sat 17th Jan Burton Albion(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-4
706 thumb-1
Sat 24th Jan Bromsgrove Rovers(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-0
326 thumb-1
Sat 31st Jan Kings Lynn(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
893 thumb-1
Sat 07th Feb Worcester City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
768 thumb-1
Sat 14th Feb Halesowen Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-5
433 thumb-1
Tue 17th Feb Gloucester City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 3-2
375 thumb-1
Thu 19th Feb Tottenham Hotspur(H) Friendly W0n 1-2
--- thumb-1
Sun 22nd Feb Atherstone United(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-0
403 thumb-1
Sat 28th Feb Kings Lynn(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
447 thumb-1
Sat 07th Mar Atherstone United(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
282 thumb-1
Sat 14th Mar Cambridge City(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-2
323 thumb-1
Tue 17th Mar Sittingbourne(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
536 thumb-1
Sat 21st Mar Gloucester City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
318 thumb-1
Tue 24th Mar Bromsgrove Rovers(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-3
456 thumb-1
Sat 28th Mar Bath City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 0-1
289 thumb-1
Sat 04th Apr Rothwell Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-1
225 thumb-1
Tue 07th Apr Cambridge City(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
302 thumb-1
Sat 11th Apr Hastings Town(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
456 thumb-1
Mon 13th Apr Crawley Town(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-1
963 thumb-1
Sat 18th Apr Tamworth(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-1
374 thumb-1
Sat 25th Apr Nuneaton Borough(A) Southern League Premier Division W0n 1-2
610 thumb-1
Sat 02nd May Merthyr Tydfil(H) Southern League Premier Division W0n 2-2
448 thumb-1

League Table 1997/98
Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1 Forest Green Rovers 42 27 8 7 93 55 +38 89
2 Merthyr Tydfil 42 24 12 6 80 42 +38 84
3 Burton Albion 42 21 8 13 64 43 +21 71
4 Dorchester Town 42 19 13 10 63 38 +25 70
5 Halesowen Town 42 18 15 9 70 38 +32 69
6 Bath City 42 19 12 11 72 51 +21 69
7 Worcester City 42 19 11 12 53 44 +9 68
8 Kings Lynn 42 19 10 13 64 64 0 67
9 Atherstone United 42 17 12 13 55 49 +6 63
10 Crawley Town 42 17 8 17 63 60 +3 59
11 Gloucester City 42 16 11 15 57 57 0 59
12 Nuneaton Borough 42 17 6 19 68 61 +7 57
13 Cambridge City 42 16 8 18 62 70 -8 56
14 Hastings Town 42 14 12 16 67 70 -3 54
15 Tamworth 42 14 11 17 68 65 +3 53
16 Rothwell Town 42 11 16 15 55 73 -18 49
17 Gresley Rovers 42 14 6 22 59 77 -18 48
18 Salisbury City 42 12 12 18 53 72 -19 48
19 Bromsgrove Rovers 42 13 6 23 67 85 -18 45
20 Sittingbourne 42 12 8 22 47 66 -19 44
21 Ashford Town 42 8 5 29 34 85 -51 29
22 St Leonards Stamcroft 42 5 10 27 48 97 -49 25

Season Summary 1997/98
Competition Summary
Southern League Premier Division 21st (22) - Relegated to Southern League Division One
FA Cup 4th Qualifying Round
FA Trophy 2nd Qualifying Round
Southern League Cup 1st Round
Kent Senior Cup 1st Round

Player Stats 1997/98
Player League Apps League Goals Cup Apps Cup Goals Total Apps Total Goals
Matt Bower 36 (2) 2 5 (0) 0 41 (2) 2
Paul Chambers 15 (1) 4 0 (0) 0 15 (1) 4
Nigel Donn 30 (1) 2 6 (0) 0 36 (1) 2
Tony Eeles 31 (1) 2 4 (0) 0 35 (1) 2
Jason French 2 (1) 0 0 (0) 0 2 (1) 0
Roy Godden 0 (1) 0 0 (0) 0 0 (1) 0
Charlie Goodwin 1 (2) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (2) 0
Lennie Griffiths 13 (8) 3 1 (0) 0 14 (8) 3
Dean Harpey 0 (0) 0 3 (0) 0 3 (0) 0
Stuart Harrison 23 (8) 2 6 (0) 3 29 (8) 5
Mike Heather 1 (2) 0 1 (1) 0 2 (3) 0
Billy Hudson 4 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 4 (0) 0
Paul Jones 4 (0) 1 2 (0) 0 6 (0) 1
Tyrone King 7 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 7 (0) 0
Lee Lough 12 (1) 5 0 (0) 0 12 (1) 5
Danny Maxted 19 (3) 0 6 (0) 0 25 (3) 0
? McCabe 3 (0) 0 3 (0) 0 6 (0) 0
Peter McRobert 1 (0) 0 0 (1) 0 1 (1) 0
Scott McRobert 1 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 1 (0) 0
Mark Miller 7 (3) 0 0 (0) 0 7 (3) 0
Maurice Munden 42 (0) 0 3 (0) 0 45 (0) 0
Paul O Brien 39 (0) 3 5 (0) 0 44 (0) 3
Tom Parks 10 (6) 2 3 (0) 1 13 (6) 3
Graham Porter 26 (2) 1 4 (0) 0 30 (2) 1
Tony Reynolds 21 (3) 0 3 (0) 0 24 (3) 0
Craig Rivett 0 (2) 0 0 (1) 0 0 (3) 0
Ian Ross 16 (9) 0 1 (0) 0 17 (9) 0
? Scarborough 0 (1) 0 0 (1) 0 0 (2) 0
Dave Scott 41 (0) 3 6 (0) 2 47 (0) 5
Steve Smith 5 (2) 0 0 (0) 0 5 (2) 0
Matt Stock 0 (0) 0 0 (1) 0 0 (1) 0
Richard Vercesi 3 (0) 0 0 (0) 0 3 (0) 0
Grahm Wells 8 (5) 0 1 (0) 0 9 (5) 0
Stuart White 29 (2) 2 3 (0) 1 32 (2) 3
Paul Wilson 10 (0) 1 0 (0) 0 10 (0) 1
Marcus Wilson 2 (1) 0 0 (0) 0 2 (1) 0